Introduction

hi zedman!!

since im new to this whole website forum thing im haing a bit of trouble finding the info i need (due to the sheer amount of info on here) so i guess ill just ask ya direct...

I find myself at a tough decicion because i have done some damage to my engine the other night on the way home from work and now my car wont start at all so im looking at a few options:

- spending some time to take it apart and analyze the problem and if its not too major reco'ing it to get it running nice again.

- maybe swapping the engine for an rb30 i have at home but i dont know whats involved with doing so

- or maybe finding on old v8 to put in it instead as these are simple engines and i have been having a few electrical problems with my L28

I have about $1k to try to get it sorted but just dont know what to do!!

any help would be much appreciated!!!

• Moderators

If you only have $1K, I'd stick to finding out the problem you have... for any engine conversion, unless you have accumilated most of the parts, you'd have to add another "0" to the $1000 to do a proper job. L28's are pretty robust and unless you have vented the block, it should be a pretty easy fix. With it not starting, I'd start with the basics (checking for fuel, spark etc) then go from there..

yeah thats what i thought about the conversions....

as for my engine i had a poke around today and its got good spark and the fuel seems fine but i pulled the plugs out and tested the compression and it was fairly low in 3 cyl so im thinking it might need rings but even before it stuffed up i was having a similar problem and i think its electrical, when the car is at running temp i can turn it off and leave it for 10 minutes and try to start it and it coughs and splutters really bad untill it cools down enough to start again.

just dont know which aspect i should try to fix first i would hate to do all this engine work just to still have the same problem with the electrics and vice versa......