L24 worth modifying?

ScottyB

Ok, so I am new to Zed's and looking to buy my first one.

Happens to be a matching numbers 240.

If I get the bug (always have done) to get some more perfomance out of it, what can I expect from the L24?  Seems like most people convert to an L28 and go from there.

Will this be the best option or could I keep the matching numbers aspect for my own peace of mind and work the 24?  Or buy an EFI 28 - but keep the L24 in the garage?

I search but didn't find much sorry.

Cheers - Scott.

I take it your looking at Richards 240z...I know the car.

L24's go hard with some work done to them and a set of tripples..Mine went better than alot of L28s aroung here.

And Richards goes hard the way it is..  L28 - L24 = 400cc not that much is it.

• Moderators

The only reason I'm modifying my L24 is because when I bought the car, I also got the matching number engine with it (in parts) and in the car was a L28. After the RB conversion, I looked at the sorry pile of engine parts on the floor and thought better put it back together. Rather than just re-assemble it standard, I thought add a cam, clean up the ports etc and now $5000 later, it's going back together! Bored and stroked to 2.7 liters with the EFI. All I hope is I don't vent the block..

Yeah I thought about it as soon as I posted it - wrap up safely the L24 and save for an L28E Turbo conversion.

Cheers Lurch.

I take it your a young bloke, When you guys talk about turbo's do you think about insurance and what it will be to insure it, Thats if someone will insure you.

Lol turbo. When we go to the track I see turbo cars getting beat on by na all the time. Surely there has to be a reason why the v8 supercars are not turbo? F1? Turn the brown ;)

Re L24 and size you will be surprized how big you can make a P30 block

young to you no doubt.

I am 28 - list of what i have owned will give an indication of why I suggested turbo: