Powerplant options

e9

I'm intending to use the Zed as a daily and being a uni student I'm more or less a tightwad so I'm looking for something that will run economically and deliver around the 160hp that the L26 did when it was new or perhaps a way to improve economy in the current engine (it's using 240 carbs right now if that helps any).

I do about 50/50 highway driving so I'm trying to keep that in mind but right now I'm thinking a CA18DE(T) or RB20.  Any thoughts or suggestions?  L28 conversions seem popular, what's the take on that?

Also would I need to change the box up or anything in the exhaust apart from extractors (I'm a newbie but I'm learning, slowly)?

• Administrators

Fuel economy of the old L-series isn't too bad provided you have electronic ignition and run well tuned SU carbs.

I prefer keeping the original L-series engine in my Zeds, but engine swaps are common.

If fuel economy isn't a problem then L-series engines can be made to perform well.

I personally wouldn't put a CA18DET in my Zed, but I'm sure it can be done easily.

I've been down this road.

Unless you can do the engine conversion yourself, and probably even then, the amount of driving you would have to do to make up for the initial outlay of cash will take you a bloody long time to reach.

I did the math, if I went from 14L/100km which I have running rich on my shit 260z carbs, down to 9L/100km of a fairly mild RB engine or SR20, then I'd be looking at saving about $1K (probably less) per year on petrol IF I drove it 5 days a week to uni and work. I've also been told to budget about 10K for a conversion done right, if I was getting reasonably cheap labor.

That would mean it would take me a decade to earn that 10K back. Even if you drive a lot more than me, is 5 years a short enough time to see a return on your investment?