Am I Correct in Diagnosing a Faulty Alternator?

Herbonius

I've been having electrical issues for a while now, my battery going dead after driving with my lights on, occasionally having to jump start the car, etc.

I'm new to this so I wanted to get some verification that my testing methods are correct.

I'm measuring around 12.25 volts directly out of the alternator with no accessories on and that number drops to around 11.75 volts with my headlights on. That is indicative of an alternator that needs to be replaced, right? I've checked that the belt drive is seated correctly and that the belt is tight. My battery is new and I have also put on new brass battery terminal connections after noticing one was a bit loose. I checked the resistance between the ground of the alternator and the ground of the battery and it was around -0.01 volts, which should be fine too?

Forgive me if I'm a little off with my terminology and testing methods here, I just bought by first multimeter this morning and went out and did some testing after watching a few quick YouTube videos.

Anyway, am I safe in assuming that I need a new alternator?

With vehicle running remove the negative lead from the battery. If she stops she's snuffed!

That's generally not a good practice.

While these cars in their stock form likely would not have an issue, because there aren't too many sensitive electronics like more modern cars, what few electronics are in these cars can suffer damage from doing such a thing.

The battery not only serves to provide electrical power while starting, but also serves as a filter to suppress spikes and ripple that is on the electrical system. Just disconnecting the battery while the engine is running can cause a spike, and could be damaging to electronics.

Just because the car may shut off doing this test does not automatically mean the alternator itself is bad.

Back to the topic at hand: