Mike260LW

Liquimoly 12 Hour Historic Production Sports Cars (Group S) support

If you are interested, here is the coverage of the final Group S – Historic Production Sports Car race on Saturday.  I’m in the Orange (with blue stripe) Datsun 260 Z #48 and came 11th. Steve Smith is in the Blue (with white stripe) 280Z came a very commendable 5th in this race! And Gavan Dearie from Vic come in 18th in the Yellow 260Z.  Group S were one of the four support categories to Liquimoly Bathurst 12 Hour race at Mount Panorama. We had practice (20 mins.), qualifying (20 mins.) and Race 1 (30 mins or 10 laps) on Thursday and then Race 2 and Race 3 (both 30 mins or 10 laps) on Friday and Saturday respectively. This is the first  Group S event for my car after a five year build.  I bought it as a rusty stripped shell (1974) with all the unrestored bits in boxes and some boxes missing.  We were chasing brakes all weekend and I’m still learning to drive this car which is very different to the webered tarmac rally Z. Was 27th in practice, qualified 17th, came 16th in Race 1, 13th in Race 2 and finished 11th in Race 3 (Final)

The Group S race starts at 0.51 mins. Into the telecast.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KCGbCXVIbVY&t=2s

I saw you fiddling with your brakes on Friday Mike, but I didn't realize it was you(!), so I went and had a chin-wag with Geisty...
The '74 looks very clean!

1 hour ago, RLY240 said:

Do I spy Jon and Gina in the crowd after the race?4A0FD196-14F2-430A-8216-D1ED9A6A8251.thumb.jpeg.c11d4970ecf4133f4e077f61dcf83205.jpeg

Yes, Mr and Mrs Siddins were there spectating and came and said hello in the pits

5 hours ago, Léon said:

I saw you fiddling with your brakes on Friday Mike, but I didn't realize it was you(!), so I went and had a chin-wag with Geisty...
The '74 looks very clean!