Zedhead

Zed Heads dream Z build.

Hello everyone

it has been suggested to me to do a thread on my 260z build so here goes.

This is my first time restoring a car so any and all advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

A quick background on how It started.  Basically I found a 1974 260z coupe on E bay about 8 months ago and fell in love with it as soon as I saw the add.  It was about 11.30pm when I saw the buy it now add, it was only listed there for about 3 hrs and it had about 120 watchers, I had a feeling it would be gone by the morning so I hit but it now for 15k. 

upon inspection I kicked the tires a little and ended up paying 14k for it and I was stoked.  She is all original apart from paint, stereo and speakers. The seats were torn and it had the usual dash cracks but apart from that she was all good and all there. I knew there were 2 small rust issues at the rear of the floor pans (rails) under both seats but they were only minor, everything else looked very straight and solid from my inexperienced perspective although I did notice there was a repair at the hatch corners but it looked like a good job and surely wasn't a deal breaker for me. 

She was purchased in Deer Park Victoria from a young guy,  it was his dads who had passed away some 20 years ago. The young man had intentions of restoring it one day but never got around to it and jut left it dry stored for 20+ years in his mums garage until I came along. 

It has the matching numbers L26 in it and the original colour is 303 turquoise green with Ivory trim.   I  have removed the l26 ( first time ever removing an engine from a car)  and purchased an L28 to go in it. Since then, I have bought a set of triple 45mm webers, a new reproduction steering wheel, Replacement seat covers and a set of front and rear try bar strut braces from Techno Tuning.