Jump to content


Photo

Wanted standard cam in good condition. Asap


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Topstage

Topstage

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Website:http://www.topstage.com
  • Location:melb

Posted 22 February 2012 - 11:49 AM

Hi guys as the title said, i need a stock cam for l28 engine. Need yhem asap especially for u guys that come ib the bbq meet tmorow at sulio's.

#2 zed74

zed74

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 424 posts
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:New Member

Posted 22 February 2012 - 02:37 PM

Hi
I have one - you can have for free (just need to pay freight)

I am in Brisbane

Let me know if interested. :)

#3 luvemfast

luvemfast

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,138 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 22 February 2012 - 02:49 PM

I'll bring one to the BBQ for you Freddy  ;)
What grind you after?
Is it for a regrind?

#4 Scoota G

Scoota G

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,213 posts
  • Location:Ballarat
  • Tagline:Mark

Posted 22 February 2012 - 06:11 PM

The A grind would be best hey?


#5 Topstage

Topstage

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Website:http://www.topstage.com
  • Location:melb

Posted 22 February 2012 - 11:01 PM

That be good simon, i need one with internal gallery. Any grind is okay as long as the lobes is in good cond. Yes for a regrind.
Just lemme know how much by sms to 0401216460. Thanks mate

#6 Topstage

Topstage

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Website:http://www.topstage.com
  • Location:melb

Posted 28 February 2012 - 08:09 PM

Simon, thanks for the cams mate. I had to regrind them the same A grind profile, the lobes are 20 thou difference.


#7 Topstage

Topstage

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Website:http://www.topstage.com
  • Location:melb

Posted 19 March 2012 - 07:52 PM

Hi guys, i need another l series cams. I had an a grind cam from simon and decided tonput it in, instead the mechanic decided to regrind because of tolerance 20 thou difference. And i said if u can make it better i dont mind. Cut story short, its not good. My car struggles from to 3500 rpm! Then start to pick up revs!!!!!

So i decided to get another cam if anyone of u have one and i'm not goin to regrind regardless what ppl said.
Pls call me on 0401316460

Need one asap as its draining me everytime i drove my zed. My old setup feels and it is faster.

#8 luvemfast

luvemfast

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,138 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 19 March 2012 - 08:07 PM

OMG Freddy  :o
I gave you an awesome A grind Cam...... Just ask Mark!

#9 Scoota G

Scoota G

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,213 posts
  • Location:Ballarat
  • Tagline:Mark

Posted 19 March 2012 - 08:10 PM

OMG Freddy  :o
I gave you an awesome A grind Cam...... Just ask Mark!

Which Mark? I'm not sure the problems is the cam from the symptoms!!!

#10 luvemfast

luvemfast

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,138 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 19 March 2012 - 08:51 PM

Which Mark? I'm not sure the problems is the cam from the symptoms!!!

Mark my words Mark.
The end of the cam I gave him was Mark-ed A grind. And you had the Mark of shock that I would give Freddy such a nice unMark-ed example, to be re-ground.



#11 Topstage

Topstage

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Website:http://www.topstage.com
  • Location:melb

Posted 19 March 2012 - 09:45 PM

simon my apology, i told the guy to just put it on. he said he can make it better.

here is what happen, i put tripples dcoe45 13 series, coke 32mm. my car is l28 with l28 pistom and N42 head (for now till i get my p90/f54 combo built)
anyway cams in, and tripples in.... fuel pump in and fuel regs in. below 3500 rpm it just bog down!!!!! 4000 rpm it start to come alive, by 6000 rpm it alive and time to change gear!!!!! rediculous... i feel i want to just chuck my old setup back.

what u guys think the problem is? timing on cams or webber chokes? should i go smaller or bigger choke?

what is choke on webber? is it to restrict air or fuel delivery?



#12 Agno

Agno

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,332 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 19 March 2012 - 09:56 PM

The chokes are there to speed up air flow through the carb and to create a pressure difference so the fuel is "sucked" through the jets and atomised before it enters the combustion chamber.

Do you happen to know the rest of your carb setup? I'm referring to your jets, emulsion tubes and venturis.

#13 Scoota G

Scoota G

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,213 posts
  • Location:Ballarat
  • Tagline:Mark

Posted 20 March 2012 - 09:00 AM

I'd say the cam timing is wrong.

#14 luvemfast

luvemfast

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,138 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 20 March 2012 - 09:23 AM

simon my apology, i told the guy to just put it on. he said he can make it better.

Just kidding you around mate  :D

What jets are you running in the carb's?
If your idle circuit is too large, it can give you similar behaviour if running rich.

Also, what are the cam specs?

You had this dyno tuned, so how about posting the dyno sheet?

#15 peter mc

peter mc

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,573 posts

Posted 21 March 2012 - 08:09 PM

hehehe  ;D no cam needed .  they make more power on 6 cylinders , and the carb is bolted on ....  it will go well when its tuned right mate

#16 luvemfast

luvemfast

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,138 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 21 March 2012 - 08:15 PM

hehehe  ;D no cam needed .  they make more power on 6 cylinders , and the carb is bolted on ....  it will go well when its tuned right mate

You on the case to get it running right for Freddy?
Noice one maaaaate  :D




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users