Jump to content


Photo

Sizes for aftermarket gauges?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 chartoo

chartoo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 362 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 27 September 2011 - 06:01 PM

Hello. Well i have the zed currently tucked away for a sleep in the shed while im working abroad for a while. Now im living in thailand and i can get my hands on some well priced gauges here however

I'm not sure of what sizes to get?

and

I'm not sure what type of gauge works best eg electric or mechanical etc no idea really

Any help appreciated guys thanks.



#2 .

.

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,083 posts
  • Tagline:Past member

Posted 27 September 2011 - 08:51 PM

Here are some pictures of the standard gauges just in case it helps.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 25638_6935ed4ff2236f35ef0d26557772cae86d16580c.jpg
  • 25636_9b79469bb97acec88b2a359e05e280b17d57569e.jpg
  • 25634_af2f6601d3ba38ce3ab7960e8e807b5ecd21e4ff.jpg
  • 25632_9f365737ecc76cdca5b219c58d8ba61ef5f9b8af.jpg


#3 Six_Shooter

Six_Shooter

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Tagline:Canuckian

Posted 28 September 2011 - 01:21 PM

5" gauges work well to completely replace the speedo and tach, while 2 5/8" gauges work well in the trio. a 2 1/16" gauge fits well into the clock cup, when the clock itself is removed, but the ring is left in place.

The drawback to this usually is that you need to find a place for at least one gauge, if you want to replace all of the existing gauges with single units, and lose the clock. You will also have to find a way to have indicator, for signals, high beam and brake somewhere.

I did this for a while, with all Autometer gauges. I'm slowly going back to a more stock configuration as I swap out the Autometers for something else.

4" gauges seem to work well to replace the guts of the speedo and tach.

There are some dual gauges out there, like those from Spa technique, but I don't really care for the look. You can find analog dual gauges that are intended for airplanes as well, that may work for you.

#4 chartoo

chartoo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 362 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 28 September 2011 - 01:46 PM

Great stuff guys so now i know the sizes.

Im assuming all replacement speedos the zed cable will fit yes?

The zed has standard electronic gauges yes? So just replace with electrical ones i like the look of with the right size yeah?

Now just to decide black or white backgrounds

Thanks



Attached Thumbnails

  • 25644_2776ae955c4fbbad4156c03948493af692aa143a.jpg
  • 25642_73e704cee0188bb902c1d3abf1d1b3c0d5daa64b.jpg
  • 25640_3e3347df4770f38764851a7c962766a79ce4ce2c.jpg


#5 benny

benny

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,733 posts
  • Location:Peninsula Area - VIC

Posted 28 September 2011 - 01:55 PM

with most gauges they come with there own sender/sensor or you need to buy them as optional extras

#6 chartoo

chartoo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 362 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 28 September 2011 - 02:17 PM

Get info guys. Any other advice will be taken also  :D

#7 RB30X

RB30X

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,981 posts
  • Location:Gladstone QLD

Posted 28 September 2011 - 06:41 PM

There are some pics and vids of the gauges I installed in my build thread in my signature below. And how I worked around the indicator issue.

#8 T.A.P

T.A.P

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 160 posts
  • Location:The Great Western Plateau
  • Tagline:Shes on all four.

Posted 30 September 2011 - 08:26 PM

There was a custom set on eBay. They look nice but no clock and volt/amp.

http://cgi.ebay.com/...=item56462fcbb6




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users