Jump to content


Photo

Larger AFM for a 280zx


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 Pacey

Pacey

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Tagline:New Member

Posted 11 April 2011 - 01:28 PM

Hi all
Wondering if anyone has come across a larger AFM for a 280zx.
I have heard there were some on RX7's and some early BMW's ?? but cant find any around..
I am wanting to increase the air capacity into the Z,

Just a bit of an experiment...

cheers

#2 luvemfast

luvemfast

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,135 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 11 April 2011 - 01:59 PM

I remember reading something about a Cressida upgrade.

Here tis  ;)
http://atlanticz.ca/...rade/index.html

#3 Pacey

Pacey

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Tagline:New Member

Posted 11 April 2011 - 02:11 PM

Thanks Simon
Good reading.
Hopefully I can find one around somewhere.

Looks interesting

Thanks again

#4 Pacey

Pacey

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Tagline:New Member

Posted 21 April 2011 - 08:46 AM

Well I went to Imalchs on the weekend and picked up a larger AFM 2 x 2.5" $30 from a Toyota.
Took it home and did all the tests on it.
All tests were exactly the same as the original 280 AFM, i was pleasantly surprised.
Even put a voltage through it , and range was the same as the Z..

Put it in the car,
Started like a dream, my air fuel gauge was sitting better than it ever had.
The only thing I did was clean it and tension the spring three teeth tighter, runs smoother, with more grunt in the top end.

There was no need to exchange circuit boards or anything.
I'm curious why I haven't been able to find anything on the web about this, especially being a direct change to a
larger AFM.
If anyone need photos let me know..
Alan

#5 luvemfast

luvemfast

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,135 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 21 April 2011 - 12:36 PM

Awesome stuff Alan  ;D
Any improvement in performance?

#6 .

.

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,083 posts
  • Tagline:Past member

Posted 21 April 2011 - 03:20 PM

yes photos please :D  Can you also give more detail regarding the model car it came off. Thanks

#7 Pacey

Pacey

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Tagline:New Member

Posted 21 April 2011 - 09:38 PM

Yeah
Definitely an improvement in power, especially top end, I am still dialing it in..but I am wrapped with the difference..

The AFM was from a Toyota, sorry didn't get the model, But it was a four cylinder and the AFM was attached to a air box, and I believe it was a 1999, silly bugger I am, but I was more exited to find the part. but I will go back to Imlachs this Saturday and have a look, ( cause i feel guilty ) but there were at least six there that i saw, $30, not a bad investment in my books.
All were labelled with an AIr Flow Meter sticker and a model number etc.
I have taken photos of the label and the whole inside of the unit and will post them on in the next couple of days..when I learn how to do it on here..

Talk soon



#8 Pacey

Pacey

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Tagline:New Member

Posted 23 April 2011 - 10:10 AM

Hi Guys
wont get a chance to go to Imlachs today being Easter (too many family things to do), see how I go tommorrow.
and ill find the model this thing came off.

here are the pics of the Toyota AFM,  all is still going really well, took it for another drive yesterday and I am still very happy..
Like I mentioned, no need to modify anything just pop it in and away you go..only thing I did was tighten the spring three teeth..

alan

Attached Thumbnails

  • 22177_cde47246bcb5a391fe153d20b6d810cde2f8914d.jpg
  • 22179_06f0ca3068f860fc66e2d30d264efca64abe5b8a.jpg
  • 22173_a68a77f83282fe2020ca1252aea04dc9f9758fc7.jpg
  • 22175_5b2c40deec061a51e4870c9a1538a2a2fa3db28e.jpg


#9 stevofoxono

stevofoxono

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Location:algester~brisbane
  • Tagline:My quarter life crisis car Z

Posted 23 April 2011 - 11:48 PM

very interested to find out what model it came off  ;D good find mate

#10 Pacey

Pacey

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Tagline:New Member

Posted 24 April 2011 - 06:37 PM

No probs
I will go to Imlachs this weekend, cause they are not open due to Easter and find the model for you.
There were at least six of them there cause I was searching  for a good clean one and came across Toyota after Toyota in a row with them.
I do know that it was definitely a four cylinder Toyota, and I'm pretty sure they were from 1999 thru to 2002 ?? And they were all definitely attached to a black air filter box and all AFM had a label saying Air Flow Meter ( have a look at the above photos)
I may go buy another this weekend as a spare cant go wrong for $30
Hope this helps a bit,

Alan

#11 DatPilot

DatPilot

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 344 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Tagline:you are a goose

Posted 02 May 2011 - 01:38 PM

Just to note, the AFM may be a minor restriction, not the biggest one on the engine. ( i'd say the ECU is the main choke point!!)
Excellent work on documenting this though

I had my L24e dynoed at 54kw stock, then intalled a Microtec fuel only ECU, had a map sensor, so pulled the AFM out. a few hrs tuning later dynoed at 75kW....


#12 Pacey

Pacey

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Tagline:New Member

Posted 03 May 2011 - 08:36 AM

Thanks for the info, I will be looking into a management system next.
Can I ask which Microtech model you used and if it does six cylinder.

Alan

#13 stevofoxono

stevofoxono

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Location:algester~brisbane
  • Tagline:My quarter life crisis car Z

Posted 03 May 2011 - 11:23 AM

mate did you end up going past the wreckers and finding out the model for the afm?

#14 DatPilot

DatPilot

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 344 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Tagline:you are a goose

Posted 03 May 2011 - 04:17 PM

I used a Microtech LT-4, very basic (VERY). This was the Laptop PC connection enabled type. The MT-4 was hand controller tuned only.
Cost me $300 from another running car (was a wrecked C210 skyline)
There are better ones out there though. but as this was my first, being simple and fairly easy to use was ok.
Still have the dovumentation/wiring diagrams too.

#15 Pacey

Pacey

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Tagline:New Member

Posted 03 May 2011 - 07:44 PM

Hey StevoFoxono
Sorry, no I didn't get a chance to go the wreckers, to busy playin with the car, I'm going there this Saturday to grab a few things, I will check it out for you then, I'll post it on here Saturday arvo sometime.

Datpilot
Thanks again for the info, yet again something to research for the Z always gets me excited..

#16 Pacey

Pacey

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Tagline:New Member

Posted 06 May 2011 - 03:51 PM

stevo
finally got to the wreckers today, i got my AFM off a 99 Toyota Camry, (4 cylinder, east west motor)
just make sure you get the same shape as what i got photos above,, the square shaped plastic covered AFM are MAP versions..and wont work..

Good luck

#17 stevofoxono

stevofoxono

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Location:algester~brisbane
  • Tagline:My quarter life crisis car Z

Posted 07 May 2011 - 12:31 AM

thanks mate :D i recon i'll track it down on monday

#18 .

.

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,083 posts
  • Tagline:Past member

Posted 09 May 2011 - 01:32 PM

Got mine on Saturday. Modified it over the weekend and it is now in the car. I haven't tried it yet.

A couple of additional notes:

The end closer to the air filter on the Toyota item does not have anything to attach the air intake hose. Luckily the bolt pattern matches the adaptor from the original AFM. Be careful though as there is the potential for a hair line gap out to the atmosphere. I used silicone to seal mine. Because this item is from the original AFM it fits in the same place as the old one (no need for any adaption). This adaptor has a restriction in the middle to reduce the flow area down to match the small flap area of the original AFM. Because the Toyota AFM has a larger flap area the restriction on the adaptor is not suitable. I filed mine down to open it up to match the flap area of the Toyota AFM.

The end closer to the throttle body on the Toyota is 90mm diameter. You will need an adaptor to down size it to match the fitting between the AFM and Throttle body. My piece here was home made to match my aftermarket throttle body. I was able to get the adaptor from Supercheap. It was a tight fit but I was able to make it work.

Sorry I forgot to take photos and now its in I am not taking it out because it took some effort to squeeze it in.

#19 stevofoxono

stevofoxono

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Location:algester~brisbane
  • Tagline:My quarter life crisis car Z

Posted 10 May 2011 - 07:51 PM

picked up mine yesterday arvo and put it in today.. Slight problem now tho, my car won't idle. Tried putting the stock afm back in aswell but made no difference. Thought my plugs were fouled so i replaced them but no resolution. Car sounds like its misfiring now.. Its weird cause i touched nothing but the afm and now my z's not driveable, weird coincidence. hoping its just a ignition lead and not something internal

#20 Lynton

Lynton

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 538 posts
  • Location:Sunshine Coast Queensland

Posted 10 May 2011 - 08:28 PM

Maybe disconnect the battery so the computer resets itself? Lynton 8)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users