Jump to content


Photo

Not remembering me.


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#21 NZeder

NZeder

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,291 posts
  • Location:Auckland, NZ

Posted 21 February 2011 - 02:05 PM

I have Firefox and I get the issue - cleared all my cookies etc still no joy I have to logon almost everytime I visit the same on my work laptop and the home PC :(

#22 chris240

chris240

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,186 posts
  • Location:rust free Canberra
  • Tagline:When in doubt...mumble.

Posted 21 February 2011 - 04:51 PM

my work computer is using IE8 with XP pro and all is good.....but with my blackberry phone I do need to logon If i wish to reply on the forum.
the 2 home computers are Win7 and both "remember me"..

#23 peter t

peter t

    OLD RETIRED Z FART

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,815 posts
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:75 260 2+2 RA60 Celica Hatch 74 260

Posted 21 February 2011 - 05:33 PM

Windows 7 and yes Ihave to log on every time. 8)

#24 KatoKid

KatoKid

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,663 posts
  • Location:South Mexico.... where the low lifes cant find me.
  • Tagline:Split loyalties between the M and the Z

Posted 21 February 2011 - 05:56 PM

IE at work and Firefox at home, two different machines ,both same problem.

#25 Zeddophile

Zeddophile

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 21 February 2011 - 06:00 PM

No problems here on Firefox and XP....  ???

#26 NZeder

NZeder

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,291 posts
  • Location:Auckland, NZ

Posted 21 February 2011 - 08:37 PM

ok then how many on Windows 7 with this issues?

me, peter t, anyone else??? is this a Windows 7 thing?

#27 Bigfella

Bigfella

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com/forum/index.php/topic,7636.0.html
  • Location:Around Melbourne
  • Tagline:Owner of rust

Posted 21 February 2011 - 09:08 PM

ok then how many on Windows 7 with this issues?

me, peter t, anyone else??? is this a Windows 7 thing?


No because I am on a Mac running Safari!


#28 benny

benny

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,733 posts
  • Location:Peninsula Area - VIC

Posted 22 February 2011 - 01:13 AM

im a mac on chrome and have no issues!!

#29 Mr Camouflage

Mr Camouflage

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 985 posts
  • Website:http://www.wazcars.com
  • Location:Perth
  • Tagline:www.wazcars.com

Posted 23 February 2011 - 11:18 PM

Just did a test. Had the site open yesterday, didn't close the browser or reboot the machine, just put it to sleep. Next day I had to log in again.

I'm not familiar with the internal workings of SMF but I'd guess they are relying on the php session id which is never a permanent thing. Old session files get flushed all the time when the server is running out of room for newer session id files. The busier the server the quicker it happens.

#30 Sirpent

Sirpent

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,294 posts
  • Website:https://www.flickr.com/photos/134020799@N04/albums
  • Location:Sodom & Gomorrah - Melbourne
  • Tagline:John.O.

Posted 24 February 2011 - 10:47 PM

Hi

Think I may have an answer of sorts.

I came back to the PC and went to reload the page, it was 11.30pm, Simon had just posted a reply in my thread some 15 minutes earlier, I went to open the thread and read the post, then went back to the main, my avatar disappeared and I saw i had to log on again.

Before I did I looked at the posts, Simons post was now showing as being listed some 3 hours earlier as were all the subsequent ones before his.

When I logged on again all the time frames went back to their correct times.

I then clicked on my name as my status showed that I was last active at 7.30 pm some 4 hours earlier which is incorrect, I last posted Simon a PM at around 11.00pm.

I think there is something going on at the server end with the time stamps.

Cheers

John

#31 Bruce

Bruce

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 301 posts
  • Location:Hawthorn East

Posted 25 February 2011 - 08:03 AM

Just had to logon.  IE8 is my browser.
Wasn't sure what my password was as I don't think I have needed to enter it since I initially logged on years ago.
cheers
Bruce


#32 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,386 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 25 February 2011 - 10:26 AM

So guys, let me clarify what's happening.

You used to sign in once and be able to return to the site without having to re-login each time. How long would you usually go between signing in and out? 7 days? 1 month? Longer?

Now everytime you return to the site you have to login again, is that right? Does this happen on the same day or next day? Or next hour?

Just trying to get some context around this.

I just checked the cookie that gets set on my machine when you sign in and it expired in like 2017. So technically if I don't clear my cache and cookies I should be able to continue to return to the site and be signed in until sometime in 2017 when the cookie is removed from my machine.

Are any of you running software such as anti spyware programs that might delete cookies at the end of a browser session or any ad-blocking software etc..?

I run on Chrome and have tested in Firefox without problems. I'm still on IE7 (for web-design reasons) and haven't used IE8 yet so not very familiar with it.

Am I making any sense or just confusing you guys?

#33 Bigfella

Bigfella

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com/forum/index.php/topic,7636.0.html
  • Location:Around Melbourne
  • Tagline:Owner of rust

Posted 25 February 2011 - 10:43 AM

Gav I originally logged in once and never had to put my details in again, ever!

Nothing has changed on my machine. No anti spyware etc.


#34 NZeder

NZeder

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,291 posts
  • Location:Auckland, NZ

Posted 25 February 2011 - 12:19 PM

Ok Gav as you may recall I am in IS/IT also. So I follow your post above.

I don't understand what is going on  - it is only this site I have issues with.

So I thought I would clear the cookie for viczcar.com and then sign in a take a screen capture of all the cookies related to the site and the expiry date/time see attachment.

I then closed down firefox and restarted....and I have to sign on again. When I signed in I selected "forever" as the option - does not stick :(

I don't know enough about the forum software you are using but it might be the way it creates the cookie that is causing the issue.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20855_dba251794802dd40b0b77887a9cae3f27f5763ff.png


#35 benny

benny

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,733 posts
  • Location:Peninsula Area - VIC

Posted 25 February 2011 - 12:51 PM

quite strange.. i just checked my cookies and its the same as yours nzeder.. though mine stays signed in!!

Ben

#36 NZeder

NZeder

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,291 posts
  • Location:Auckland, NZ

Posted 25 February 2011 - 01:17 PM

quite strange.. i just checked my cookies and its the same as yours nzeder.. though mine stays signed in!!

Ben

And you know what is weird - I just shut down firefox again. Went in and I did not have to sign-in - that is the first time in a long time.......WTF.....but I am not going to say it is fixed for me...I will wait until I get home after the laptop has sat in car for the 1-2hour drive home (depends on traffic)

#37 BobsYourUncle

BobsYourUncle

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted 25 February 2011 - 01:59 PM

It's still happening to me, using Chrome and Firefox on Windows 7 (64bit). I have firefox open all day at work usually, and i get logged out here sometimes by just closing the tab for the forums, then coming back in a new tab a few minutes later.

#38 NZeder

NZeder

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,291 posts
  • Location:Auckland, NZ

Posted 25 February 2011 - 07:51 PM

ok just got the laptop out - 6 hours later.....and I had to sign in again.

#39 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,386 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 25 February 2011 - 08:52 PM

Thanks Nzeder,
You can ignore the cookies _utma, _utmb, _utmc, _utmz or any other _utm prefixed cookies. They are used for Google Analytics and have nothing to do with the forum.

I believe viczcar-forum cookie is the forum session cookie.

Can you guys who are having this issue recall when it started to happen? Has it been going on for a long time or only started recently? I've not changed the forum software for a while so I don't think I've made any changes, but I do have to update the forum software and this update may contain a bug fix. -> Will need to check this.

I know I have to sign in again sometimes, but this is usually for admin tasks (and I assume security) i.e if I want to delete a spam users account I often have to type my password again to verify I'm admin.



#40 NZeder

NZeder

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,291 posts
  • Location:Auckland, NZ

Posted 25 February 2011 - 09:15 PM

me just a little over a week ago.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users