Jump to content


Photo

$300 Gift Voucher


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Bigfella

Bigfella

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com/forum/index.php/topic,7636.0.html
  • Location:Around Melbourne
  • Tagline:Owner of rust

Posted 19 November 2010 - 01:14 PM

I was just given a $300 gift voucher from Just Tools for my 40th. Believe it or not I am having a bit of trouble spending it.  I was thinking of getting a sandblasting cabinet. Come on fellow Zeders I need some suggestions.

Thanks
Bigfella

#2 benny

benny

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,733 posts
  • Location:Peninsula Area - VIC

Posted 19 November 2010 - 02:04 PM

cabinet sounds good... wish i had one :'(

#3 Bigfella

Bigfella

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com/forum/index.php/topic,7636.0.html
  • Location:Around Melbourne
  • Tagline:Owner of rust

Posted 19 November 2010 - 02:30 PM

cabinet sounds good... wish i had one :'(

Yeah I thought it may be good for all those little parts I have to do
Be nice if I could fit the car in it. :P

#4 RB30X

RB30X

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,981 posts
  • Location:Gladstone QLD

Posted 19 November 2010 - 03:58 PM

Make sure your compressor is big enough first.
Ratchet spanners are awesome bits if gear, they're on my christmas list.

#5 Scoota G

Scoota G

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,213 posts
  • Location:Ballarat
  • Tagline:Mark

Posted 19 November 2010 - 05:02 PM

Yes and imagine how many new "friends" you will have with your own sandblaster!!!

#6 Bruce

Bruce

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 301 posts
  • Location:Hawthorn East

Posted 19 November 2010 - 05:28 PM

happy birthday by the way

Yes and imagine how many new "friends" you will have with your own sandblaster!!!


yep, I'll be around with a whole heap of stuff to clean up

I'd add the following:
metal cutoff saw
ratchet spanners
descent size air compressor

cheers
Bruce


#7 handsandwhich

handsandwhich

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 453 posts
  • Location:melbourne
  • Tagline:Huge Member

Posted 19 November 2010 - 11:08 PM

Make sure your compressor is big enough first.


+1 on this.

I had one of those little cabinets and tried to run it with my 50 litre, 3hp compressor. Worked O.k but the compressor was always running, trying to keep up with the mass amount of air needed to blast effectively.

Very frustrating, so just did what every frustrated person would do and went out and got a 250 litre, 10hp compressor and a bigger cabinet. That sorted it right out ;D

#8 Bigfella

Bigfella

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com/forum/index.php/topic,7636.0.html
  • Location:Around Melbourne
  • Tagline:Owner of rust

Posted 20 November 2010 - 08:57 AM

happy birthday by the way

yep, I'll be around with a whole heap of stuff to clean up

I'd add the following:
metal cutoff saw
ratchet spanners
descent size air compressor

cheers
Bruce

Thanks for the birthday wishes.
Yeah i'm not sure of the size of compressor required. I will have to look into that.
I was also thinking of getting a plasma cutter. But just tools don't have them, and they are a bit more than $300 bucks


#9 Bigfella

Bigfella

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com/forum/index.php/topic,7636.0.html
  • Location:Around Melbourne
  • Tagline:Owner of rust

Posted 27 November 2010 - 12:56 PM

Well I made my choice .

Got the cabinet and some ratchet spanners.


Attached Thumbnails

  • 19233_dc1382eebb4ccdc38f6f34cf12649f7728f6c66a.jpg
  • 19231_bbff98ed28d3c7669dab9f7bcdf2040faf7748fb.jpg


#10 Gareth. J.

Gareth. J.

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,237 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Victoria

Posted 27 November 2010 - 01:33 PM

How much was the cabinet? Also what the min size compressor you can use it with?

#11 Bigfella

Bigfella

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com/forum/index.php/topic,7636.0.html
  • Location:Around Melbourne
  • Tagline:Owner of rust

Posted 27 November 2010 - 02:26 PM

How much was the cabinet? Also what the min size compressor you can use it with?

Its was $245. it states 5 CFM at 80 psi. I have a 2 1/2 HP compressor and I can't find a CFM on it anywhere. It was having a bit of trouble keeping up.

I have a mate who is going to sell me his 3 cylinder 15 amp jobbie at a good price and that is about 8 CFM.
Hopefully that will cope a bit better.



#12 handsandwhich

handsandwhich

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 453 posts
  • Location:melbourne
  • Tagline:Huge Member

Posted 27 November 2010 - 03:35 PM

I have a mate who is going to sell me his 3 cylinder 15 amp jobbie at a good price and that is about 8 CFM.
Hopefully that will cope a bit better.


It will still struggle, but will get the job done.....eventually!

What I did when I was running a smaller compressor was purchase one of those small blast pots and ran that into the cabinet as the pressure pots are more effective due to the fact they don't need to waste pressure by having to suck up the media from the bottom of the cabinet.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users