Jump to content


Photo

Gran Turismo 5


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 RB30X

RB30X

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,981 posts
  • Location:Gladstone QLD

Posted 15 September 2010 - 06:41 PM

I first bought a Playstation 1 to play Gran Turismo 1 when it came out.
The trend continued with GT2, 3 and 4.
My GT5 Iphone application is telling me the release date is November 3rd 2010.
November 3rd.................November.......2010. :'(

Two months away, after all these years.
I have been reading up on what this edition is supposed to contain and I am very excited.
Anyone planning a few weeks off work after its release date??? After all, we're only human.

#2 benny

benny

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,733 posts
  • Location:Peninsula Area - VIC

Posted 15 September 2010 - 07:27 PM

lol im certainly gonna get it when it come out!!

#3 Whittie

Whittie

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 582 posts
  • Location:Houston - Texas

Posted 15 September 2010 - 08:57 PM

I've got a bad feeling that the missus is going to get angry at me, I'm going to be 'sick' according to work and my zed is going to stall for a few weeks due to lack of funds when I come home one day to find that new G25 and PS3 sitting on my desk....

8)

I think the game looks promising, and I've played forza 3 to death already.... Now, just got to justify $1000 for one game  :o

#4 mtopxsecret6

mtopxsecret6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts
  • Location:Sunnyspank Brisbane

Posted 16 September 2010 - 06:19 AM

The game comes out november 4th here in aus. Ive already paid for my signature edition copy of gt5. And ive already got a g25 and g27 wheel, so im set for paired time attack battles!! Bring on gt5!

#5 Six_Shooter

Six_Shooter

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Tagline:Canuckian

Posted 16 September 2010 - 11:28 AM

If I had a PS3, I'd be getting GT5.

I have Dirt 2 for my Xbox though, and so far I find it better than any of the GTs I've played, though I have spent MANY, MANY hours playing GT1 back when I played my Playstation. I can't wait for Dirt 3, Rock Band 3 (October release) and Call of Duty: Black Ops (November Release). :)

#6 Stivva

Stivva

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 992 posts
  • Location:Victoria
  • Tagline:Hiroshima Screama

Posted 16 September 2010 - 03:08 PM

I've got a bad feeling that the missus is going to get angry at me, I'm going to be 'sick' according to work and my zed is going to stall for a few weeks due to lack of funds when I come home one day to find that new G25 and PS3 sitting on my desk....

8)

I think the game looks promising, and I've played forza 3 to death already.... Now, just got to justify $1000 for one game  :o



1000 bux??!?!??!?!??! $600 more likely. I have just clocked over to my 76th game with my PS3 and unless I buy a few more before GT5 it will be my 77th.

#7 tbscobraZ

tbscobraZ

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Location:Sydney- Normanhurst

Posted 16 September 2010 - 03:32 PM

I will definately be getting it but like all ps3's mine died and its out of warranty so I have to shell out 250 to get it fixed because I'm not confident enough to reflow the board myself.

#8 Whittie

Whittie

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 582 posts
  • Location:Houston - Texas

Posted 16 September 2010 - 05:32 PM

Well I heard a myth about some $350 120gb PS3's going around, but I'm not intown at the moment, so they'll all be gone before I get the chance to buy one, so it'll be a $600 playstation, a $400 steering wheel and then a $100 game.

So, realistically, $1100 just for the one game.

I already have a 360 with about 20 games and a modded Wii with around 80 games, so there isn't a whole lot coming out these days I can't play on atleast one of those systems. Hence, $1100 for one game....  :-\

#9 mtopxsecret6

mtopxsecret6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts
  • Location:Sunnyspank Brisbane

Posted 16 September 2010 - 07:11 PM

the g27 is 500. There is a new 320gig ps3 for 600. I just got my 250gig for 400. And 300 for the signature edition gt5 pack.

#10 RB30X

RB30X

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,981 posts
  • Location:Gladstone QLD

Posted 16 September 2010 - 07:30 PM

I'm wondering if GT5 will be too big for the PS3.
I bet it has an update too, before you can play anything which will take three hours.

Steering wheel, Who uses a steering wheel? It's controller for me all the way. I even hate using the toggle for steering.

#11 Whittie

Whittie

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 582 posts
  • Location:Houston - Texas

Posted 16 September 2010 - 09:28 PM

the g27 is 500. There is a new 320gig ps3 for 600. I just got my 250gig for 400. And 300 for the signature edition gt5 pack.


The local shop has the G27 for $420 including next day delivery :)
Haven't been able to do the ring around not being home, but would suspect that I'd only be able to get the$600 320gb version
Notinterested in the signature edition. I don't need a key chain, die cast model and picture book enough to warrant the $200 extra!!

So yeah, $1100 if I bite the bullet. Yet to be decided! Depends if I get that day off in November that I want!!

#12 mtopxsecret6

mtopxsecret6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts
  • Location:Sunnyspank Brisbane

Posted 16 September 2010 - 09:37 PM

I'm wondering if GT5 will be too big for the PS3.
I bet it has an update too, before you can play anything which will take three hours.

Steering wheel, Who uses a steering wheel? It's controller for me all the way. I even hate using the toggle for steering.



You might aswell pull out the playstation and gt1 if thats your driving style. A wheel is the way to go, specially the g25/7, 6 speed gated shifter with clutch.. why would you use the old analogue controls?
I have a full c ockpit built, with handbrake, g25/7, the seat shakes and race harness, cant get any closer to the real thing.

#13 Six_Shooter

Six_Shooter

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Tagline:Canuckian

Posted 17 September 2010 - 03:40 AM

I have a wheel for my 360, but I'm not a fan of it, I think mostly because I either need it clamped to teh table, which puts me sitting funny, or it just flops around on my lap, if I try it that way.

I want to build a racing gaming seat, but, I'm running out of space in the ManCave as it is with the entertainment center, PC, and Rock Band ION Audio drum set, among other things. :/

#14 tbscobraZ

tbscobraZ

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Location:Sydney- Normanhurst

Posted 17 September 2010 - 04:17 PM

Can't believe you spend so much on steering wheels.
http://www.wocom.com...pexd.asp?id=920
http://www.wocom.com...pexd.asp?id=916

#15 mtopxsecret6

mtopxsecret6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts
  • Location:Sunnyspank Brisbane

Posted 17 September 2010 - 05:48 PM

there ok, though.. you get what you pay for.. no clutch, no 6 speed gated shifter, no 900 degree lock to lock like a real car. If i was going to play mario cart or something, id use these.

#16 Whittie

Whittie

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 582 posts
  • Location:Houston - Texas

Posted 17 September 2010 - 08:48 PM

I want to build a racing gaming seat....


You just reminded me that I recently replaced the seats in my zed and have a spare fiberglass racing seat lying around..... WHY DID YOU DO THAT!!!!!

My wallet is bracing itself already. Might have to soften up the olds tho, I doubt they'd like me having a racing cockpit lying around in their house. Nor could I fit it in my room which is the only place I'm able to play games due to lack of big screens in the house, hence everyone wants access to it at the same time to watch such quality shows as Today Tonight and Neighbours...  :'(

#17 tbscobraZ

tbscobraZ

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Location:Sydney- Normanhurst

Posted 23 September 2010 - 02:50 PM

Looks like I'm getting it now I managed to fix my ps3 with cooking skils haha. Mine died from YLOD error which is when the solder underneath the chip cracks because of the ridiculous amount of heating then cooling they do, so i baked it in the oven and it is all good again. YAY

#18 RB30X

RB30X

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,981 posts
  • Location:Gladstone QLD

Posted 23 September 2010 - 04:37 PM

Do you have a recipe for that?

#19 mtopxsecret6

mtopxsecret6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts
  • Location:Sunnyspank Brisbane

Posted 23 September 2010 - 04:39 PM

baked chips for dinner anyone?

#20 Six_Shooter

Six_Shooter

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Tagline:Canuckian

Posted 23 September 2010 - 10:52 PM

What's for dinner?

lol




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users