Jump to content


Photo

MSD 6AL


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#21 Ben

Ben

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 313 posts
  • Location:Adelaide

Posted 02 September 2010 - 12:55 AM

My 6AL is under the passenger seat. You can hear it happily buzzing away at idle...
I'll probably put it on the kick panel to make it a bit neater.

#22 Gareth. J.

Gareth. J.

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,237 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Victoria

Posted 02 September 2010 - 10:04 AM

My 6AL-2 is mounted between the battery and passenger strut tower, MSD said that would be fine and so far so good!

#23 luvemfast

luvemfast

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,124 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 02 September 2010 - 10:10 AM

It obviously helped you last weekend Gareth, to break the 2min mark at the Island.
Did you actually notice a gain? If so how much, and where? (more torque, revs etc)
How much $$?

#24 Gareth. J.

Gareth. J.

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,237 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Victoria

Posted 02 September 2010 - 11:04 AM

It was $400. It's heaps smoother to drive, more responsive, better economy (not that I care about that). After starting stone cold it'll idle at 750rpm with no chokes straight away. There's also the rev limiter set for 7000rpm, which is handy and the launch control but thats not hooked up....... yet  ;D

Attached Thumbnails

  • 17634_3cb42c10bbd76b823915b68b25c08d473dfa00f1.jpg


#25 luvemfast

luvemfast

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,124 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 03 September 2010 - 10:21 AM

Got an opportunity to get one of these, 6 months old for $200.
Do you think it would be worthwhile?

#26 Gareth. J.

Gareth. J.

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,237 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Victoria

Posted 03 September 2010 - 10:29 AM

Sounds like a great deal to me if it's the 6al-2.  The 6al is an older version and is readily available for around $200

#27 luvemfast

luvemfast

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,124 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 03 September 2010 - 11:30 AM

Good point, it may have been a 6AL, whats the difference to the 6AL-2?

#28 NZeder

NZeder

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,291 posts
  • Location:Auckland, NZ

Posted 03 September 2010 - 11:39 AM

Good point, it may have been a 6AL, whats the difference to the 6AL-2?

6al = analogue aka old tech. 6al-2 digital much newer tech :)

http://www.msdigniti...ct.aspx?id=5813

#29 DatPilot

DatPilot

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 344 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Tagline:you are a goose

Posted 03 September 2010 - 01:21 PM

Doesnt the 6AL have a couple of 'chips' that you plug in to set rev limits

then the 6AL-2 have a dial (well 2 dials) for revs??

ebay USA have a few different options, the dollar is pretty good too! (91 cents)
Cheapest in OZ I could find was $325


#30 Six_Shooter

Six_Shooter

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Tagline:Canuckian

Posted 03 September 2010 - 03:19 PM

The 6AL has a single pill to plug in to set the rev limit. You can get adaptors, like the "2 step" and "3 step" to set multiple rev limits. If you're handy with some sodler and resistors, and potentiometers you can make your own adjustable "pills".

I have a 6AL in the attic, I'm not sure where it came from, and not sure what I'm going to do with it, since I don't own a vehcile that has a dizzy anymore.

#31 Gareth. J.

Gareth. J.

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,237 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Victoria

Posted 03 September 2010 - 07:53 PM

I believe the 6AL-2 has uprated voltage output as well. The 6AL would still be a good upgrade I think if mine is anything to go by  ;)

#32 d3c0y

d3c0y

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,848 posts
  • Website:http://garagesanmaru.com
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Forum Jerk

Posted 05 September 2010 - 08:55 PM

Or you could just buy the crane HI-6 that is better than the 6-AL, has built in trim pots for rev limit and you can pick one up for under $200AUD second hand...

#33 Six_Shooter

Six_Shooter

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Tagline:Canuckian

Posted 06 September 2010 - 12:47 AM

Or you could just buy the crane HI-6 that is better than the 6-AL, has built in trim pots for rev limit and you can pick one up for under $200AUD second hand...


My experiance with Crane electronics that you couldn't pay me enough to put Crane electronics in my car.

#34 d3c0y

d3c0y

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,848 posts
  • Website:http://garagesanmaru.com
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Forum Jerk

Posted 07 September 2010 - 02:05 PM

Do you care to elaborate on this?

#35 Gareth. J.

Gareth. J.

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,237 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Victoria

Posted 07 September 2010 - 02:50 PM

Or you could just buy the crane HI-6 that is better than the 6-AL, has built in trim pots for rev limit and you can pick one up for under $200AUD second hand...


Do you mean 6AL+6AL2? Out of interest what advantages does the Crane offer over MSD  ???

#36 DAT392

DAT392

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts

Posted 07 September 2010 - 05:11 PM

I had a crane hi6 for about a month when they first came out.Car wouldnt rev over 4500rpm and on the dyno showed the spark fizzling out.Took it off ,no probs with spark.Sent it back under warranty to adelaide and they said nothing was wrong with it.Maybe bad luck but I dont think so.Have been using msd for a while with no probs.A lot of my mates have upgraded from 6al to the msd digi 6 and digi 7 which I beleive allows them to retard and advance timing from in the car and also retard timing at full acceleration etc etc a little too complexed for my application ,but how deep is your pockets.

#37 Six_Shooter

Six_Shooter

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Tagline:Canuckian

Posted 08 September 2010 - 12:49 PM

Do you care to elaborate on this?


Several Crane ignition boxes that either just flat out failed, or wouldn't work properly, like rev limiters, not limiting, the already mentioned limited reving, with rev limiters no where near that setting. These were installed on several different cars, by me and others. FWIW, I've been working with automotive electronics for around 20 years now, on an amature and professional levels, just so you know, I'm not afraid of electroncs and had made it my job for over a decade. ;)

#38 d3c0y

d3c0y

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,848 posts
  • Website:http://garagesanmaru.com
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Forum Jerk

Posted 08 September 2010 - 05:09 PM

Fair enough then i'll conceed based on that lol ;D

I have a crane it works  8)

#39 DAT392

DAT392

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts

Posted 10 September 2010 - 05:25 PM

I thought we werent wrong ,well the dyno said so anyway but thanks.As for the other chap whos works your lucky and as far as I know crane has gone bankrupt and been taken over so maybe they have fixed any issues.I know they were good for top end gear rockers,guides ,cams and heck 20 years ago you could buy one of there stickers for 5 bucks and it would ad 5hp to your ego!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users