Jump to content


Photo

LHD to RHD conversion


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 kelly

kelly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 25 September 2006 - 05:36 PM

Hey guys...I just happened on this site, and its great! I am toying with the idea of getting an abused or otherwise direlect first generation Z. I was wondering how difficult it would be to convert a LHD to RHD car. I am guessing that I would need the RHD steering rack, and the dashboard.
I am thinking that I could take all the old components and use it in the LHD dash, like the guages, steering column and such...
Now the difficult part is this: I am in America. I am wondering how hard it would be to ship all that over here...

Any of you fellas have any ideas/suggestions?
Thanks
Kelly

#2 dave_hl

dave_hl

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Location:Mont Albert

Posted 25 September 2006 - 06:20 PM

Do you mean you want to convert a RHD to LHD? or why would you want to convert to RHD if you were in the US, why not buy an already LHD one there and convert it if you're doing it for the fun of it.
man i had to read through that sentence like 5 times to make sure i hadn't mixed up LHD with RHD.

#3 kelly

kelly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 26 September 2006 - 04:33 AM

That was confusing!
I want to find a USDM LHD 240-280 Z. I want to convert it to a RHD JDM, UKDM, ADM Zed. I think that would make the car atotally unique ride. I would like to do it for the fun of it.
I am wondering if it would be feasible to have a RHD Rack and Pinon, RHD dash, and any other required RHD-only parts sent over to America.
My other question is if the firewall is different on the RHD/LHD cars as well

#4 zedevan

zedevan

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,346 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 26 September 2006 - 12:26 PM

i'd just buy this car http://www.classiczc...hlight=fairlady

but then you dont get to convert it to RHD

#5 kelly

kelly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 26 September 2006 - 04:54 PM

Yeah, that is cool, but it is also twelve grand! I am still going to do the DIY thing...

#6 nat0_240_chevZ

nat0_240_chevZ

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 834 posts
  • Location:Adelaide

Posted 26 September 2006 - 05:15 PM

yea firewalls are diff.

-battery trays and recess in the pressing for the battery are opposed sides, but you could leave it as it is.

-the other firewall detail is pretty much interchangeable. most

-acc pedal mount setc would need att but brake & clutch should be an easy swap.

-how bout just buying a rhd from aus or europe???? as the body # would give it away HLS not HS30

-interior would probly be interesting with the wiring i mean but if you got a rhd dash it should pan out ok im not sure which side the loom enters through the firewall on a US Lhd

nato

#7 RUSSJZ-ZED

RUSSJZ-ZED

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts
  • Location:Sydney Oz

Posted 27 September 2006 - 09:20 AM

He can leave the battery tray where it is, but probably only if he intended running without brakes.
It's all a bit silly anyway. :roll:

#8 PZG302

PZG302

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,751 posts
  • Location:Brisvegas or the Big Durian

Posted 27 September 2006 - 12:01 PM

You could leave the battery tray and run brakes on the left no worries. Just don't bother with the booster. :lol: :lol:

The brake pedal only gets hard to push when you run a 1" master cylinder.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users