Jump to content


Photo

Alloy mustache bar


  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#1 waxhead

waxhead

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts
  • Location:Gold coast

Posted 02 November 2009 - 03:16 PM

I have just been talking with my water jet cutter about making some alloy mustache bars.
I will work on the drawing tonight, it would help if some one had off a car and could give me some dimensions to start off with
Ie distance in drop between the top mounting holes and the diff bolts

#2 Scoota G

Scoota G

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,213 posts
  • Location:Ballarat
  • Tagline:Mark

Posted 02 November 2009 - 03:53 PM

Got two off at Dalee's place i can get some measurements tomorrow for ya.

#3 waxhead

waxhead

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts
  • Location:Gold coast

Posted 02 November 2009 - 03:58 PM

That would be awesome
thanks for that
I have the distance between the main down studs sorted but just the other measurements i dont have
Posted Image
this is the kind of thing i have in mind
basic at this stage but you get the idea

#4 waxhead

waxhead

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts
  • Location:Gold coast

Posted 02 November 2009 - 04:15 PM

Im just trying to figure out design ideas at the moment
Im not sure that making it out of steel is not a bad idea and this i can make it thinner with more intricate cuts
Posted Image

#5 stevo_gj

stevo_gj

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,561 posts
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Steve

Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:47 PM

If you want me to conduct a stress analysis to compare your various designs I can put them into an FEA package I have. I won't be able to give you lifetime performance results because I can't begin to guess actual fatigue loading conditions, but I can give you data that you can use to compare the designs to each other.

#6 waxhead

waxhead

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts
  • Location:Gold coast

Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:51 PM

Yeah that would be awesome thanks for that
What do you need from me , as in what type of file
Maybe we can get a few of these made ??

#7 stevo_gj

stevo_gj

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,561 posts
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Steve

Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:59 PM

Anything that can be opened with Solidworks or Solid Edge. Preferably .iges .igs or a .sldprt file. If you can't do any of those give me a list of possible file names and I'll see what I can work with.

Email it to stevo_gj AT hotmail.com

I am going out to dinner but would be able to have have a crack at it later.

Also it would be great if you could draw a small diagram showing the loads you want me to test, just in terms of directions.

#8 waxhead

waxhead

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts
  • Location:Gold coast

Posted 02 November 2009 - 06:19 PM

OK will do
Im just trying to get basic dimensions at the moment to help me with the drawing
But will lie under car with tape measure later

#9 waxhead

waxhead

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts
  • Location:Gold coast

Posted 02 November 2009 - 07:43 PM

Ok i like this design better
Been underneath measuring the bar but i really need one to trace out on paper to take more accurate measurements
Posted Image
Posted Image
Its 12.5 mm wide and I just have to draw up the bush mounting brackets easy!!!

#10 waxhead

waxhead

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts
  • Location:Gold coast

Posted 02 November 2009 - 08:19 PM

OK mounting bracket done
Its close in dimensions will just have to move a few bolt holes around when i get the finial details but it would be with in 10mm of correct
Posted Image

#11 waxhead

waxhead

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts
  • Location:Gold coast

Posted 02 November 2009 - 09:54 PM

Ok sent you an email


#12 Mr Camouflage

Mr Camouflage

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 986 posts
  • Website:http://www.wazcars.com
  • Location:Perth
  • Tagline:www.wazcars.com

Posted 02 November 2009 - 10:04 PM

Looks a bit like the Arizona Z car mustache bar

http://www.arizonazc...om/azcM2487.JPG

#13 waxhead

waxhead

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts
  • Location:Gold coast

Posted 02 November 2009 - 10:17 PM

Its kind of hard to make them look to much different if your water cutting them out of alloy
But yes i was using there pictures for ideas on the drawing

#14 Mr Camouflage

Mr Camouflage

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 986 posts
  • Website:http://www.wazcars.com
  • Location:Perth
  • Tagline:www.wazcars.com

Posted 02 November 2009 - 10:46 PM

I just noticed that the AZ bar doesn't have holes in it. The holes are just milled recesses.

Here's a better picture.

http://www.classiczc...66&d=1096246919

Would be interesting to see the stress results Stevo will be doing with a bar with holes compared to one without.


#15 stevo_gj

stevo_gj

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,561 posts
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Steve

Posted 03 November 2009 - 12:46 AM

Hey guys, I'm gonna post here what I emailed Wax:

"Hey mate,


My professional FEA software (Strand7) is on the fritz on my PC, so I've used Simulxpress which is a small FEA package within solidworks. I've applied 1kN on each of the bolt holes for the diff, which is an overestimate of forces involved, and then restrained the two large bolt holes on either end.

Since I do not know the size of the forces involved I am not able to give you accurate figures for the stress, but I will be able to use the ‘guessed load’ to qualitatively show you the highest stress areas. This will allow you to compare one design to another by applying the same load and see which has the highest stresses.

In other words, the stress analysis is only useful if you have more than one model for me to test. Knock up another design when you get a chance and I'll apply the same loads and see how it compares.

Cheers,

Steve"

I've attached the results of the FEA.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 11738_bb30c1b664fe8ec24031cc2a423994b63826f845.jpg
  • 11736_6d5fc07d098a562c46cfb93923484cade8e4a53b.jpg


#16 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,644 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 03 November 2009 - 03:06 AM

Pretty impressive stuff guys. I'm thinking we need an Auszcar online store so when parts like this are available you can easily sell them through the club store to anyone anywhere in the world.

#17 Mr Camouflage

Mr Camouflage

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 986 posts
  • Website:http://www.wazcars.com
  • Location:Perth
  • Tagline:www.wazcars.com

Posted 03 November 2009 - 03:37 AM

Maybe try a rotational force to the center bolt holes that hold the diff to simulate the torque of the engine.  Maybe one force up and the other force down.  Not sure what other forces would be involved.



#18 waxhead

waxhead

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts
  • Location:Gold coast

Posted 03 November 2009 - 05:54 AM

OK i will do a mirror image and shove the block on the other side so you can hold it there as well
Also i will increase reduce the gusset on that hole to leave more  metal there so it will be stronger
there is also a torsional force on this part as the top bolt holes are held the bar tries to twist up

Mr camo man
I need to get it right with the holes in there as its a water jet job and as such they cant do depth
I suppose i could do it with out holes at all but it wouldn't look as trick

#19 chris240

chris240

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,194 posts
  • Location:rust free Canberra
  • Tagline:When in doubt...mumble.

Posted 03 November 2009 - 07:58 AM

top thread guys  ;D
how many other autocad operators do we have here  ??? Im not too bad on 2d, but using 3d / revit etc is outa my league !

#20 stevo_gj

stevo_gj

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,561 posts
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Steve

Posted 03 November 2009 - 09:53 AM

Hey guys,

I will change the loading conditions to reflect the torsional force involved. Which alloy were you going to make it out of btw? I need to choose a metal and so far I've just chosen 1060 aluminium alloy.

Eww simulxpress doesn't let you show the stress contours without showing displacement, so I have to show you the deformed model...

Attached Thumbnails

  • 11742_841ad531011f4fec177ea9eee676dde02716e749.jpg
  • 11740_0642ac63be9160879a30b96eb7f93ae6c278e260.jpg





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users