Jump to content


Photo

Major Diff problems..


  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 nedloh312

nedloh312

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Website:http://www.codingninja.com.au
  • Location:Kogarah - Sydney
  • Tagline:Dave

Posted 14 June 2009 - 02:31 PM

4 times in the last 3 months, the bolts that hold the diff to the mustache bar have completely snapped...

The bolts come loose after normal driving to and from work, no circuit racing or anything haha ^^

Anyways, these are high tensile steel bolts so they don't just break easily as you know... Don't know what to say? I am going to replace the 'Differential Mount Insulator' but i have seen some posts where people have custom mounts to replace the chain-over-diff method..

So yer, any ideas?

#2 Lurch ™

Lurch ™

    Curator of the 'Gavin Collection'

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,602 posts
  • Location:Victoria
  • Tagline:In my Den of Rust & Sin

Posted 14 June 2009 - 02:36 PM

I wish I knew why this was happening...

I NEVER had this problem!

#3 nedloh312

nedloh312

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Website:http://www.codingninja.com.au
  • Location:Kogarah - Sydney
  • Tagline:Dave

Posted 14 June 2009 - 02:39 PM

And this time everyone, please don't go on about Lurch and a 'driveway warranty'...

I don't do burnouts
I don't drift
I don't race people
I don't go overly fast
I don't do red light drags
I don't go off road



#4 xa1973

xa1973

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Location:Queensland

Posted 14 June 2009 - 04:08 PM


You mention you use High Tensile bolts...and I dont mean the ones in the grab paks you buy from Repco, Autopro and the like..

I assume you mean 4.6 or 8.8 black, this number will be cast raised on the bolt head

The stress and load force required to sheer either one of these bolts is.... ENORMOUS....

Buy either of the above, prefer the 8.8 , some flat faced hardened washers, check the OD of your mount holes for the correct sizing, ( they may be worn or oval with so many failures, if so re drill and go oversize) use Nyloc nuts and thread lock, you should have a minimum of three threads shy of the nut and torque to 59 to 78 NM and see how you go...

NB: If you have any problems getting the bolts, drop me a PM

#5 nedloh312

nedloh312

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Website:http://www.codingninja.com.au
  • Location:Kogarah - Sydney
  • Tagline:Dave

Posted 14 June 2009 - 04:54 PM

Hi, these aern't the crap ones from cheapo shops, they are from my dad whos a bigwig at country energy.. These bolts are used when building the transformers...

Put the bolts in with 262 threadlock and left to cure for 24 hours and then put the nyloc nuts on and put as hard as possible... Have done that each time...

#6 xa1973

xa1973

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Location:Queensland

Posted 14 June 2009 - 04:57 PM

Hi, these aern't the crap ones from cheapo shops, they are from my dad whos a bigwig at country energy.. These bolts are used when building the transformers...

Put the bolts in with 262 threadlock and left to cure for 24 hours and then put the nyloc nuts on and put as hard as possible... Have done that each time...


Yeah OK

But what kind of bolts are they and what is cast stamped on the heads..

Bolts are like chain, oil etc etc each has a different application and use



#7 nedloh312

nedloh312

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Website:http://www.codingninja.com.au
  • Location:Kogarah - Sydney
  • Tagline:Dave

Posted 14 June 2009 - 05:00 PM

I asked him and he said they are stainless steel bolts not high tensile

304 grade

#8 xa1973

xa1973

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Location:Queensland

Posted 14 June 2009 - 05:04 PM

I asked him and he said they are stainless steel bolts not high tensile

304 grade


;)

Well theres your problem my friend... in short. they are c#$p for what you need

As before, if you cant get what you need drop me a PM

You must have someone watching over you.....with that many issues with your diff coming adrift

#9 nedloh312

nedloh312

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Website:http://www.codingninja.com.au
  • Location:Kogarah - Sydney
  • Tagline:Dave

Posted 14 June 2009 - 05:11 PM

;)

Well theres your problem my friend... in short. they are c#$p for what you need

As before, if you cant get what you need drop me a PM

You must have someone watching over you.....with that many issues with your diff coming adrift


Okay, so i need to get high tensile bolts, re-drill both the mustache bar and the diff cover and then try again?

#10 xa1973

xa1973

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Location:Queensland

Posted 14 June 2009 - 05:15 PM

:)

Yep

Give that a go and I think youll have solved your problems, remember to match the bolts to the holes and have a bit of extra length on the bolts....

#11 xa1973

xa1973

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Location:Queensland

Posted 14 June 2009 - 05:20 PM



By the way is the Pelican Shores Resort still there...

#12 nedloh312

nedloh312

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Website:http://www.codingninja.com.au
  • Location:Kogarah - Sydney
  • Tagline:Dave

Posted 14 June 2009 - 05:24 PM

I am pretty sure it is :P Was it on the left near the Whalebone Wharf?

#13 xa1973

xa1973

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Location:Queensland

Posted 14 June 2009 - 05:29 PM



Not sure of the Wharf name.....


I was a Project Manager during Construction back in the late 80's and lived in Port Mac for about 2 years after so Ive got a bit of a soft spot for the place....

:)

#14 nedloh312

nedloh312

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Website:http://www.codingninja.com.au
  • Location:Kogarah - Sydney
  • Tagline:Dave

Posted 14 June 2009 - 05:30 PM

ah kk :P  It's a bit of a hole when your my age lol...

#15 xa1973

xa1973

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Location:Queensland

Posted 14 June 2009 - 05:33 PM

ah kk :P  It's a bit of a hole when your my age lol...


LOL

I can imagine, there wasnt a lot happening when I was there, at least youve a sweet ride to work on......

:)



#16 nedloh312

nedloh312

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Website:http://www.codingninja.com.au
  • Location:Kogarah - Sydney
  • Tagline:Dave

Posted 14 June 2009 - 05:35 PM

There was a theme park that was awesome, but some company bought it because it was too loud next to there resort and they destroyed it...

#17 xa1973

xa1973

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Location:Queensland

Posted 14 June 2009 - 05:47 PM

There was a theme park that was awesome, but some company bought it because it was too loud next to there resort and they destroyed it...


Oh well........sign of the times I guess

#18 nedloh312

nedloh312

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Website:http://www.codingninja.com.au
  • Location:Kogarah - Sydney
  • Tagline:Dave

Posted 20 June 2009 - 03:38 PM

Okay, i did what you said.. It's the diff mount, had it on a hoist today and the diff mount is so bad it's almost metal on metal, there is 2" of travel... I could push the diff 2inches up before the chain stopped it... Going to order a new one from nissan...

Thanks for the help :) Also, the bolts you suggested were what we first used when it happened the first time lol

#19 nedloh312

nedloh312

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Website:http://www.codingninja.com.au
  • Location:Kogarah - Sydney
  • Tagline:Dave

Posted 22 June 2009 - 05:24 PM

Got a new diff mount from AllZParts :D:D Arrives Thursday/Friday :D:D

#20 RBZ 260

RBZ 260

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,174 posts
  • Location:Adelaide
  • Tagline:S chassis Nutter

Posted 22 June 2009 - 06:13 PM

u may want to tighten that chain so u dont have 2" movement otherwise the new mount will have the same faith as the old one in very short time.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users