Jump to content


Photo

r32 4 pot front and 2 pot rear conversion


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 mtopxsecret6

mtopxsecret6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts
  • Location:Sunnyspank Brisbane

Posted 15 November 2008 - 01:09 PM

Just seeing if this has been looked at or been done? My 32 has four pots front and 2 pots rear, and they have a lot of brake power for standard. What would be the process of determining if this could be done? I have already read the rear brake conversion, from drums to disc.. whats peoples thoughts?

#2 Zedman240®

Zedman240®

    The 2000+ club

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,198 posts
  • Location:Way out SE Melbourne
  • Tagline:I want your old SHOGUN bike! PM me now...

Posted 15 November 2008 - 03:16 PM

Its been done, and there are many variations to it. This is the DBA106B disc and R32 caliper and machined 260Z hub (not 240). Caliper mounting holes have to be re-drilled though....

Attached Thumbnails

  • 4958_.jpg


#3 Scando

Scando

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 932 posts
  • Location:Southern TAS

Posted 16 November 2008 - 07:33 AM

I have R32 rears but a different front conversion.  I used a modified R31 calliper mount on the rear.  They work very well but you may need to run a proportioning valve to get the bias right.

#4 mtopxsecret6

mtopxsecret6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts
  • Location:Sunnyspank Brisbane

Posted 16 November 2008 - 11:04 AM

what would be involved in using all the 32 brake gear? ie. booster, master, distribution block etc etc? sorry for the questions.. i just don't have my 260 here with me at the moment for me to actually look at the car.

#5 OZ001

OZ001

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 21 January 2010 - 03:53 PM

Warning: this topic has not been posted in for at least 365 days.
Unless you're sure you want to reply, please consider starting a new topic.


yes ive read the warning, and this is all i could find in the search.

has anyone actually done a front and rear r32 caliper conversion for the 240z? using only 240z parts not machined 260z hubs?? im looking in doing this for my 240z cause the drums dont look nice, also i want stopping power aswell. i have considered 280zx rear brakes but i rather something beter. i have message SWR and now awaiting a reply. if anyone has done this conversion please PM or post back.

#6 Zedman240®

Zedman240®

    The 2000+ club

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,198 posts
  • Location:Way out SE Melbourne
  • Tagline:I want your old SHOGUN bike! PM me now...

Posted 21 January 2010 - 04:13 PM

If the R32 rear calipers are the same as the Z32 two piston rears, it has been done but the problem is, you will lose the handbrake. The Z32 has the internal drum (inside the disc hat) for the park brake and if you don't run that with the zed, you will have to rig up a hydraulic handbrake setup; ie clutch master cylinder under the car to apply pressure to the rear calipers (not road legal tho). Member Nzeder I think has done an internal rear drum in the disc handbrake setup...

#7 OZ001

OZ001

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 21 January 2010 - 05:02 PM

so a 300zx brake calipers will better??? so that way i wont have to have a hydraulic hand brake?? im so confused

#8 Kent

Kent

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Website:http://www.project240k.com
  • Location:NSW

Posted 21 January 2010 - 05:10 PM

most of the newer nissans have the integrated "banksia" style handbrake (effectively a drum setup inside the bell of the disk brake in addition to the normal caliper).

SWR do a conversion (had it done on my 240K) that uses the calipers and banksia brake setup for a commodore/falcon (can't remember which), and Techno toy tuning in the states sells a new rear upright that allows you to use the complete skyline/300zx rear end (including hubs, brakes etc).. i am going to eventually go with that

#9 jruss69

jruss69

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Cairns
  • Tagline:JDM tuned

Posted 23 November 2010 - 03:49 PM

i need help too. i jsut won GTR R32 front 4spot callipers 4 my 240z 73''. i want to keep my car 4 STUD? can any one HELP????
wat steps are involved to making it work?
wats the mim rim size will fit?


THANK YOU

#10 Scando

Scando

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 932 posts
  • Location:Southern TAS

Posted 24 November 2010 - 07:23 AM

8th post from the top on this page are pics of what I did to mine:

http://www.viczcar.c...c,2662.120.html

R33GTS-T calipers (almost identical to R32 GTR).  DBA 326x30 2-piece discs.  Custom hats.  Custom mounts.  17 inch wheels.
Wheel size will depend on the size of the disc you go for.  16's are a perfect fit if using the same size disc as a GTR.  I wouldn't go smaller than 15's or the disc you need to fit in the rims will be too small to work properly with the calipers.

#11 jruss69

jruss69

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Cairns
  • Tagline:JDM tuned

Posted 24 November 2010 - 09:40 AM

the conversion i was going to do is GTR R32 front callipers and S15 rotors and drill them out to 4 stud. and for the rear i got a set of r31 brakes for it??



#12 Scando

Scando

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 932 posts
  • Location:Southern TAS

Posted 24 November 2010 - 12:18 PM

I don't know the dimensions of the S15 rotors but as long as they're the right width and the offset is right then it should all work well.

#13 jruss69

jruss69

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Cairns
  • Tagline:JDM tuned

Posted 24 November 2010 - 06:16 PM

is there a tutorial of anything like this been done?

#14 Zedman240®

Zedman240®

    The 2000+ club

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,198 posts
  • Location:Way out SE Melbourne
  • Tagline:I want your old SHOGUN bike! PM me now...

Posted 24 November 2010 - 07:03 PM

With my conversion, you must use 260Z hubs and machine the face (where the disc mounts to) by about 6-7 mm to center the disc in the caliper, re drill the disc to the same PCD as the hub (which isn't the same as the wheel studs) and machine out the disc hub to again suit the 260 hub. With the caliper, you must remove the threaded inserts in the mounting ears of the caliper and machine some aluminium "slugs" to press fit into the caliper mounts. Then with some careful measuring once you have mounted the disc on the hub and onto the axle, find where to drill the new holes into the caliper mounts. I have some pics which I hope make more sense.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 19199_9082ad49e2d03d9f499b8b2110e32c4b19d7553a.jpg
  • 19197_3ab455487437a9902db14ca7731b45862aec1190.jpg


#15 jruss69

jruss69

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Cairns
  • Tagline:JDM tuned

Posted 24 November 2010 - 08:15 PM

yer i kinda understand now but i jsut cant work out why use the 260z hubs and not the 240z?

#16 Ben

Ben

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 313 posts
  • Location:Adelaide

Posted 24 November 2010 - 08:42 PM

The 260Z hub (round mating face) vs. 240Z (scalloped mounting face) have different heights.
i.e the depth of the disc mounting faces is different between the two models.

#17 jruss69

jruss69

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Cairns
  • Tagline:JDM tuned

Posted 24 November 2010 - 08:56 PM

is there a way of using the gtr r32 callipers and using the 240z hubs?

#18 Scando

Scando

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 932 posts
  • Location:Southern TAS

Posted 25 November 2010 - 08:39 PM

I have done this but I used 2 piece discs so I could make the hats match the 240Z hubs.  Bad news is I got a quote on custom hats and it was $350 each.  Luckily I have a mate with access to a very well equiped workshop and it ended up costing me $90 for the alloy to make them out of :)

#19 Premo 264z

Premo 264z

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Adelaide Hills
  • Tagline:sadistic one

Posted 07 February 2011 - 11:58 PM

Would it be easier to use a fairly bigger disk so that you only need to get a bracket made up to space the caliper past the edge of the 260 hub and to any offset desired?

I have a R32 gts-t and I'm currently using a bracket as described to space the caliper out about 11mm from center with the same offset as stock to allow for R33 GTR disks. Ive almost finished parting out my R32 so I can build up a 260z 2+2 I just purchased. I'm thinking I should keep the brakes and was just told that I should also keep the rear shafts so I can convert to using the R32 handbrake.

Has anyone got an example of a hub converting bracket to do this?

#20 NZeder

NZeder

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,291 posts
  • Location:Auckland, NZ

Posted 08 February 2011 - 06:26 AM

Stewart Wilkins make a bracket that will mount Z32/R32 rear brakes to the S30 retaining the internal park brake drum in hat setup. You need all the rear brakes from the donor car, cables, shoes, shoe holder thing, springs for the shoes etc = keep everything from the car you have related to the rear brakes.

However the brackets are not cheap. I made my own internal drum setup using new parts from different cars - would I do it again? No I would just purchase these brackets from Stewart Wilkins - would have easier and cheaper than all the R&D for one off my setup.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users