Jump to content


Photo

Online Casino's and there cheap marketing tactics


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,398 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 19 December 2005 - 08:28 AM

Don't know if anyone has noticed but once in a blue moon Viczcar is attacked by an online casino with spammy useless messages with links in their signature for an online casino.

After much searching I believe I have found the culprit.

Rest assured I will be installing a user verification process to counter this kind of sign up user. I will also send a polite email to their hosting provider and hopefully that will be the end of it.

:evil:

#2 Zeddophile

Zeddophile

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 19 December 2005 - 05:49 PM

Thats not really relevant, hehe.

www.internetmoneytrap.com

LOL, had to do it, sorry Gav.

#3 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,398 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 19 December 2005 - 06:56 PM

Thats not really relevant, hehe.

www.internetmoneytrap.com

LOL, had to do it, sorry Gav.


Not sure I get the joke but I'm sure you find it funny :D .

Anyway just a follow up, I have no installed image verification so that new users must enter a code that is shown as an image to sign up. I'm not sure if the users or bots were manually signing up or not but I guess we will find out soon enough. :roll:

#4 Zeddophile

Zeddophile

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 19 December 2005 - 08:40 PM

Lol - just the last one that signed up posted in about 20 threads, with posts that were just like generic comments, didn't match up to anything that was said, then had a casino link in the signature.... Nevermind me.

#5 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,398 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 19 December 2005 - 09:13 PM

Now I get where your coming from, yeah what a bastard thing to do but I guess some people don't have any respect especially on the internet.

I did remove all those posts didn't I? If there are still any left let me know. I think I'm going to have to change the forum so that you must be a member to post and reply to posts in all forums. It's the only way to prevent this rubbish unfortunately.

I wanted to leave the classifieds open? opinions?

#6 Toecutter

Toecutter

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,272 posts
  • Location:Kensington, Victoria

Posted 20 December 2005 - 07:21 AM

That sounds ok. The occasional non member seems to pop up only in classifieds anyhow!
On another note, it would be good to have recent pics posted come up on the front page. I think it would get more people updatimg gallery more often and just get more people posting photos in general!????

Sulio

#7 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,398 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 20 December 2005 - 09:50 AM

Hey Sulio, Yes I agree it would be good to have the latest pictures on the front page and I have only done a little research on how to achieve this. I plan on spending some time changing the look of the forum to suit the front page and at the same time making improvements like that.

I want to also look at changing the location of the forums from http://www.viczcar.c...eb/bulletin/bb/ to http://www.viczcar.com/forums/

like wise with the gallery
http://www.viczcar.com/v-web/gallery/
http://www.viczcar.com/gallery/

Long story as to why it was configured this way but I believe it isn't helping with Search Engine optimisation having the forums that deep into directories.

:roll:

#8 Zeddophile

Zeddophile

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 20 December 2005 - 04:31 PM

Now that you've reminded me, I don't seem to be able to upload any pictures anymore??? Wanted to put up my headlight scoops in primer, but the 'upload files' link doesn't come up at photo area, just 'login'.... which takes me to the forums, since I'm already logged in (and even when I ain't)

#9 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,398 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 21 December 2005 - 08:05 AM

Seems strange Sulio mentioned the same thing but I haven't had the same problem when I log into his account and try, However that makes two of you now.

I think when I make some further changes to the site I'll reinstall the photogallery and re-integrate it with phpBB and see what happens.

ahh Bugs gotta love em' :shock:

#10 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,398 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 21 December 2005 - 08:34 AM

So what your saying is you can't see the upload image link once logged in?
See attached image?

Attached Thumbnails

  • 222_.jpg


#11 Jimbo

Jimbo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Location:Omeo

Posted 21 December 2005 - 09:25 AM

G,day Gav, Nope, i havent got that upload file link either..Just to let you know.... Jimbo.... :!: :!:

#12 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,398 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 21 December 2005 - 10:48 AM

Could either of you guys please take a screen shot for me of what you can see?

You guys are logged in when you have this problem right?

Cheers,
Gavin.

#13 Toecutter

Toecutter

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,272 posts
  • Location:Kensington, Victoria

Posted 21 December 2005 - 04:20 PM

The screen the guys see including myself is the screen you would see if you were not logged in which does'nt allow all the options of uploads. I would do screen print but I'm at work and pressed for time at the moment.

Thanks
Sulio

#14 Zeddophile

Zeddophile

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 21 December 2005 - 05:08 PM

Here you go.... If you click Login, it goes straight to the forum index. If you logout then try to login from the gallery page, it logs you in then goes to forum index..... :?

While I'm at it, most days when I try to access the site, it times out and says page cannot be found, but works almost instantly when I click refresh.... Occasionally I have to refresh two or three times. Is there anything that can be optimised for this? I'm on 1500kb ADSL, so shouldn't have this problem..... Worked fine today, for whatever reason.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 223_.gif


#15 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,398 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 21 December 2005 - 06:01 PM

So your logged in and it appears as if you are not when you go to the gallery?

If you log into the forums and then click on the gallery can you upload photos then? Or if your logged in at the front page and then go to the gallery can you see the upload image link?

I might need a dummy account to test these problems as an average user.

The problems with site timeouts I've noticed also and I put this down to our website host. I think there are problems with their nameservers and the site went down last night.

It might be worth Sulio and I looking into another host with a more reliable service. The only problem is our budget and since we don't have any funds for the site or advertising we are a little limited.

I guess these are all valid points to raise with the members of the site. I might need to start a new thread.

I'd say the main issue with server time outs would be that we don't have a dedicated server for the site and other websites on the same server are probably putting load on the server causing timeouts.

#16 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,398 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 21 December 2005 - 08:21 PM

I've played around with a few things can you guys try again and see if your still having the same problem.

Also could you try hitting refresh on the gallery page just to make sure your not seeing a cached version or something like that. :D

#17 Toecutter

Toecutter

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,272 posts
  • Location:Kensington, Victoria

Posted 21 December 2005 - 08:37 PM

nah still same for me.

#18 Zeddophile

Zeddophile

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 21 December 2005 - 08:49 PM

Okay, just checked and refreshed, nothing....

I'm always logged into the site, and I've tried going from the main page to the gallery, and from the forums to the gallery. And in the past I've tried logging out of the site, and then logging back into from gallery page, but it just takes me to the forum...

The last file Sulio uploaded, according to the gallery was on November 30 this year, so what if anything have you changed since then?

#19 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,398 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 21 December 2005 - 11:00 PM

The only thing I've updated is the forum software.

All I can think of is maybe you have an old cookie present try deleting cookies perhaps? I've tried under a normal log in on my computer at work and home. It appears to be fine.

I almost always use Firefox so I'm going to test IE now see if that is the problem. The only bug I've noticed is when I try log out of the site from the photo gallery I get an invalid session error.



:roll:

#20 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,398 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 21 December 2005 - 11:05 PM

I've tried Internet Explorer and it works for me under 2 different names, my own name and the other standard user account.

Did you guys tick the box "log me on each time" ? On the login screen? If so it could be an old cookie giving the issue with the gallery and maybe it still works ok for the forum???

Unfortunately I haven't been able to replicate the error on my end. :(




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users