Jump to content


Photo

280zx master cylinder and pedal box into a 260z


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 stevo_gj

stevo_gj

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,561 posts
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Steve

Posted 22 July 2008 - 01:44 PM

Hey guys, I have made a mistake once or twice that could easily have been avoided if I had just posted and said what I was doing so someone could tell me to stop!  :-[

I currently have a 280zx master cylinder and pedal box and a few associated parts and will be getting my mechanic to drop them into my car this weekend.

I have been informed that he will have to drill a couple extra holes into the firewall as the screws for the master cylinder and pedal box are slightly off centre in one place. I have also been informed that the pedal box will have to be lenghthened in one part as it is missing some bolt holes that hold the steering column in place.

the gearbox is a reco'd 260z gearbox with 0 kms on it.

Any serious problems I haven't accounted for?

Steve

#2 sco_aus

sco_aus

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,484 posts
  • Location:Canberra, ACT
  • Tagline:Scott

Posted 22 July 2008 - 04:42 PM

The master cylinder should just bolt straight onto the booster, there is no reason the MC should be bolted straight to the firewall!!!  I think this is what you are saying?  I cant comment on the pedal box, but i can tell you first hand the MC will bolt straight to a standard 240, 260, 280ZX booster...

#3 stevo_gj

stevo_gj

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,561 posts
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Steve

Posted 23 July 2008 - 10:23 AM

I'm not entirely sure what it means, but my mate Greg showed me that when you held up the 280 pedal box to a 260 pedal box, some of the holes are aligned and two of them are rotated around. The same is true for the corresponding bolt hoes on the master cylinder.

Well anyway, I take it that from the 40 views and no one saying anything that there is no reason I shouldn't go ahead and try it. I'll see if I can visit my mechanic and take some photos while he works.

#4 sco_aus

sco_aus

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,484 posts
  • Location:Canberra, ACT
  • Tagline:Scott

Posted 23 July 2008 - 10:39 AM

Oh, sorry I see, you are putting a 280 pedal box into a 260?
Why may I ask are you putting a 280 pedal box into it?

#5 stevo_gj

stevo_gj

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,561 posts
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Steve

Posted 23 July 2008 - 04:50 PM

My mechanic already had it lying around. I couldn't find one easily and my car club mate and mechanic think it should be fine. If you know a place where I can get a master cylinder and pedal box for a 260 in Brisbane that would be sweet.

Cheers,

Steve

#6 sco_aus

sco_aus

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,484 posts
  • Location:Canberra, ACT
  • Tagline:Scott

Posted 23 July 2008 - 04:53 PM

I know a place, zbits.com.au 
I just wouldnt be doing anything that wasnt bolt on unless you really dont care, i used to do it all the time, now my car is covered in small holes from drilling all over the place etc
But i hope it works out for ya

#7 stevo_gj

stevo_gj

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,561 posts
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Steve

Posted 23 July 2008 - 05:06 PM

haha damn you. when you put it like that I cant help but get the right ones  ;D

ive just spoken to him and its 150 for the master cylinder, pedal box, slave cylinder and linkage which sounds fair

#8 sco_aus

sco_aus

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,484 posts
  • Location:Canberra, ACT
  • Tagline:Scott

Posted 23 July 2008 - 06:15 PM

haha, yeh, thats a good price, i paid 100 for the MC alone...

#9 sco_aus

sco_aus

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,484 posts
  • Location:Canberra, ACT
  • Tagline:Scott

Posted 23 July 2008 - 06:16 PM

Was that a 280 MC or standard one that comes with the setup?  If its just a standard one, your 280 one will bolt straight up to replace it, but i imagine he wouldnt seperate the items for cheaper?

#10 Zeddophile

Zeddophile

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 23 July 2008 - 08:35 PM

Firstly, have you read this:

http://www.viczcar.com/forum/index.php/topic,1986.0.html


Secondly, if you've read that, you should realise you should only need the pedals, and not the pedal box itself - especially since your car is the same body style as mine was (later car).  If you stick your head up under the dash, and look at the pedal box you should see a spot where you could hang another pedal next to the brake pedal.  Its possible that Nissan had one or two different ones, but I got a manual pedal box with my auto car when I bought it, and compared the two - they were identical, so I just swapped the pedals themselves - much easier (Or cheaper if you are paying someone to do it)

Thirdly, I bought my 260 clutch master cylinder from the Z shop in Melbourne for about $60 when I did mine 2 or 3 years ago, and postage would be bugger all.  I also suspect they are available from Nissan still....

Further to that.... Do it yourself!  So much more fun, and it really is a bolt in conversion when you have the right bits.



#11 stevo_gj

stevo_gj

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,561 posts
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Steve

Posted 24 July 2008 - 01:02 AM

Bloody hell, I glossed over your post as I wasn't planning on doing it myself. Thanks mate you have just save me a butt ton of cash. I'll still buy the linkage, master cylinder and slave cylinder from Zbitz and I'll just use the pedals from the 280, since they should be the same.

thanks again!

#12 stevo_gj

stevo_gj

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,561 posts
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Steve

Posted 24 July 2008 - 06:58 AM

Me to Zbitz:

"I have just discovered that I do not in fact need to purchase a new pedal box after all, as I can use the manual pedals from my old 280zx box and bolt them into my current box without any kind of modification. In fact I don't even need to remove the box."

Zbitz reply to me:

"The 280zx pedal box will not fit in your 260z"

::)

#13 sco_aus

sco_aus

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,484 posts
  • Location:Canberra, ACT
  • Tagline:Scott

Posted 24 July 2008 - 08:06 AM

lol
Though I will say i was told a R33 diff centre wont fit in a longnose or work, well mine does :D  They dont know absolutely everything, but they usually do know what they are on about.

#14 nat0_240_chevZ

nat0_240_chevZ

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 834 posts
  • Location:Adelaide

Posted 24 July 2008 - 12:58 PM

yes but you have an early r33 centre, they changed very quickly to a 31 spline in that model. they may not have known about the 2 variants, most pple se a black spider and assume all spiders are black, wrong!!!! especially alot of ppl on forums too, cmon guys be open minded, dont take what someone says as gospel, but dont write it off until you have proven it entirely wrong and be open to the fact that it may have been mod' in its of 30+ something years!!!!
nat0, (wasnt ranting but please be mindful of other findings.)

#15 sco_aus

sco_aus

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,484 posts
  • Location:Canberra, ACT
  • Tagline:Scott

Posted 24 July 2008 - 01:00 PM

Yeh, I know this, what I mean is, he said that he was 100% sure it wouldn't fit, not that there was a chance it might, be I doubt it.  Someone in that position shouldn't be saying that if they don't know.  I know what your saying though, maybe I should stop being so harsh on him. :P

Anyways, Nat0, you have mail.  Sorry to hijack thread.

#16 Dingo Dave

Dingo Dave

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 160 posts
  • Location:Canberra
  • Tagline:I wanna bring to many cars back to life.

Posted 24 July 2008 - 06:28 PM

If someone wants to get rid of a 280 pedal box and master cylinder i would be happy to help take it off your hands as i am in need of one. pm me or 0418682838

#17 stevo_gj

stevo_gj

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,561 posts
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Steve

Posted 28 July 2008 - 06:16 PM

I went to my mechanic yesterday afternoon and there is good news and bad news. The good news is that now I have everything I need and he has trial fitted the pedals, gearbox and linkage and everything fits fine.

The bad news is that this fully reco'd gearbox with 0kms on it could end up being a dud box. My mechanic and I are very worried about the way the gearstick to return to the centre of its range of motion every time we put it into gear.

For example, if we put it into first we would push it left and up. Upon letting go the stick moves to the right, back to the centre position, but stays forwards. Has anyone ever experienced this?

My mechanic has also pointed out that the gearbox has had a hole cut into the bell housing for reasons unknown. He thinks this is not a serious problem but it doesn't say a lot for the seller who did not mention it to me. My mate recommended that I take it and get a strip and quote as the integrity of the box is in question.

To get this 'fully reco'd' box from perth I paid 600 for the box and 300 for shipping.

#18 stevo_gj

stevo_gj

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,561 posts
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Steve

Posted 31 July 2008 - 10:31 PM

Bad news about this box, apparently it has indeed be reconditioned however the rear housing where the selectors run through is completely buggered and must be replaced.

I am going to purchase another gearbox, a cheap one, and use this part from it. Does anyone have any lying around? I don't care if its a shit noisy box as generally the parts I need will still be ok.

Current manual conversion costs:

1300 + Labor + Cost of crap gearbox

This has been a pretty crap experience, I have learned that I must inspect before I buy just about anything...  :'(

#19 sco_aus

sco_aus

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,484 posts
  • Location:Canberra, ACT
  • Tagline:Scott

Posted 01 August 2008 - 05:50 AM

That sucks Stevo. Unfortunately there are just some tools out there willing to screw people for a few bucks.  Any chance of recovering some money from this liar?

#20 Lurch ™

Lurch ™

    Curator of the 'Gavin Collection'

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,607 posts
  • Location:Victoria
  • Tagline:In my Den of Rust & Sin

Posted 01 August 2008 - 07:14 AM

Seeing as you already have a L series Bellhouseing, what not try this:
http://www.ozdat.com...php?f=8&t=6393p

Then, when you do your SR conversion, you just have to swap the SR bellhousing back over ;)

There's a couple of S13 box's on ebay ATM...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users