Jump to content


Photo

Gauge In Drivers Air Vent


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 02 December 2017 - 05:52 PM

Hi guys, just wondering if anyone has installed a gauge in their air vent before, I saw it done in a car that was for sale a little while ago and thought it might be an effective place to install a boost gauge however I'm thinking that it may be too difficult to see when in the drivers seat. My car is currently stripped so it's hard for me to tell if it will be visible or not.

 

Thanks!

Andrew



#2 PB260Z

PB260Z

    Peter (PB)

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,281 posts
  • Location:Northern Sydney
  • Tagline:Must stop buying new toys for the workshop.

Posted 02 December 2017 - 06:26 PM

Hi Andrew

I don't recall having seen it done.
You would be able to see it, but not in your natural eyeline.
Maybe consider putting in place of the, usually non working, clock ?


Cheers

PB

#3 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 03 December 2017 - 02:21 PM

Unfortunately my clock actually works and I'm looking for a stealthy place to install my boost gauge/wideband Afr gauge. Trying to make it look as stock as possible. I can't seem to find any boost gauges or afr gauges the correct size that are of a similar style to the factory gauges.

Anyone have any suggestions?
Andrew

#4 GregTas

GregTas

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Location:Hobart, TAS

Posted 03 December 2017 - 05:24 PM

I mounted an AFM in a 240z vent hole some years back. It worked ok there. It was neat and out of the way. My gauge was 2". I had to make a flat sheet surround to go around the gauge so it filled the hole.

 

I had my boost gauge in the clock spot.

 

Sorry no pics


  • Andrew_L26 likes this

#5 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 03 December 2017 - 10:30 PM

Thanks mate, would you happen to remember what boost gauge you used?

Cheers,
Andrew

#6 GregTas

GregTas

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Location:Hobart, TAS

Posted 04 December 2017 - 12:16 PM

My boost gauge was nothing special, just a VDO 2 inch gauge. It fitted in neatly. I think I may have made a thin metal surround to mount it in and to take up any gaps around it. Painted matt black.

 

I know someone on here fitted Speed Hut gauges in their dash.  I think they may have used the larger 2 5/8". One of those would look good in there. 


  • Andrew_L26 likes this

#7 KatoKid

KatoKid

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,695 posts
  • Location:South Mexico.... where the low lifes cant find me.
  • Tagline:Split loyalties between the M and the Z

Posted 06 December 2017 - 06:21 AM

Yep, Speedhut here. 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users