#1 nanananabatsun

nanananabatsun

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Tagline:New Member

Posted 03 June 2016 - 02:55 PM

Batsun.JPG Hello other z nuts.

I have a 1977 260z 2+2 which, after some work, has now been my daily driver a while.

I am not keeping it stock but am making it more comfortable, reliable, economical etc a bit at a time.

I've been driving it every day for nearly two years and have scored a rebuilt RB30 out of an R31 to go into it, along with both a manual box and a Jatco auto including computers for each. It is currently running a HM reconditioned (some time prior to 1992) L26 with twin SU's and a five speed manual and a 3.545.

Before I ask let me say that I've been trawling the forums for some time and have found brief references to the following but nothing definitive or from someone who has actually done it so that's why I'm asking here - hopefully one of you has been as strange as me or worse.

Questions:

1. Will the yoke off a stock 260z tailshaft fit either a manual (5 speed) or auto (4 speed jatco) box out of an r31

2. Am I likely to face length issues. e.g. will i need to have the tailshaft cut and pasted?

3. If I need the yoke off the R31 tailshaft is it likely to fit the 260z shaft or is there too big a difference in uni sizes?

4. I scored a Castlemaine Rod Shop set of engine mounts and there's this weird wishbone thing which others seem to say is for the transmission. Can anyone please explain it cause it seems unnecessary at this point - or is there a massive difference in the weight or fitment between gearboxes which the stock mounts wont cope with or cannot be adapted to fit?

5. I have the chance to fit a single downdraft intake manifold off an old GQ RB30 - has anyone run an RB30 Carby in a Z and had good results or is EFI always superior?

6. Am I likely to damage my R200 or the stock tailshaft by putting an NA RB30 in front of it?