Jump to content


Photo

No Gauges Or Charging


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 26 March 2016 - 09:51 PM

Hi all, a few days ago I started my z and none of my gauges were working (tach, oil, fuel, temp) the only ones that work are my clock, voltmeter (which seems a little dodgy) and speedo. I thought I may have knocked something out from under the dash as I was installing a clutch pedal for my manual conversion however I haven't been able to find anything. the only other thing is the night before I was charging the battery with another car. I drained the battery by leaving my door open all day whilst working on the car as well as the radio going. I left another car running with jumpers for about 15 mins to give the battery a bit of extra juice ready for a drive the next morning. The next morning I noticed first my tach wasn't working then my temp gauge/oil/fuel so I decided that I'd better run my thermofans manually due to my temperature controller being stuffed. Eventually the fans fully drained the battery and the car began to run really rough, so I shut her off and unplugged the fans (as they were running really really slowly) then got a jump from someone to get to where I was going. I think I have cooked something by charging the battery with jumper leads however I've checked all my fuses and they are fine (with a voltmeter) as well as my fusable link wires.

 

Any help would be amazing!!

 

Andrew


  • Simestime likes this

#2 phillay

phillay

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:New Member

Posted 27 March 2016 - 01:37 PM

have you checked the alternator is ok? see if it's putting out 14volts



#3 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 27 March 2016 - 02:10 PM

have you checked the alternator is ok? see if it's putting out 14volts

As of now It isn't, would a failed alternator cause the gauges to fail as well? I'm thinking it's something else thats causing all of it not to work...



#4 gilltech

gilltech

    The 1000+ club

  • Donating Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,146 posts
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 27 March 2016 - 03:14 PM

Going by on-line advice I have seen offered regularly by experts, first up be sure all the earths in the circuitry are sound. Apparently bad groundings can be responsible for all sorts of electrical gremlins.



#5 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 27 March 2016 - 04:13 PM

Going by on-line advice I have seen offered regularly by experts, first up be sure all the earths in the circuitry are sound. Apparently bad groundings can be responsible for all sorts of electrical gremlins.

That's sort of what I've been doing. Anyone know where the main ground is for the gauges?



#6 gilltech

gilltech

    The 1000+ club

  • Donating Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,146 posts
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 27 March 2016 - 05:41 PM

On my 260 there is a ground right behind the front end of the console, part of the large bunch of wires in that area.

But also check the grounds in the engine bay.



#7 oldmates260z

oldmates260z

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 753 posts
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 27 March 2016 - 07:33 PM

Have seen this issue before but I did not solve it myself. Strangely it was a auto (2+2). The clock worked but the tacho, fuel and temp did not. The guy she bought the car off said "they used to work".

 

When I looked at the wiring diagram I remember seeing something that linked the power to the gauges with the auto kick down switch. I checked all that wiring and could not fault it :(

 

She took it to a auto electrician who charged her $800 to fix it and said someone had messed up the wiring.......................

 

Good luck...I would like to know the issue



#8 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 27 March 2016 - 09:16 PM

Have seen this issue before but I did not solve it myself. Strangely it was a auto (2+2). The clock worked but the tacho, fuel and temp did not. The guy she bought the car off said "they used to work".

 

When I looked at the wiring diagram I remember seeing something that linked the power to the gauges with the auto kick down switch. I checked all that wiring and could not fault it :(

 

She took it to a auto electrician who charged her $800 to fix it and said someone had messed up the wiring.......................

 

Good luck...I would like to know the issue

Hmm, Mine was a 2+2 auto when the issue started. I hadn't changed any of the wiring etc. I also found that the kickdown switch didn't work. The was converted to manual the next day (it all happened the morning after I installed my clutch master and pedal)

 

I'll keep you guys posted

 

Andrew



#9 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 27 March 2016 - 09:33 PM

I've actually found quite a few other cases of this

http://www.zcar.com/...ot-working.html

 

http://forums.hybrid...gauges-working/

 

I've decided tomorrow I'm going to #1 clean the under-dash ground, if that doesn't work then I'm going to take my tach out and manually ground it, if that doesn't work then I know it's power, which I will try next with and see if feeding 12v down that line will get all of my gauges to work. Is it 12V that the gauges take or 6V? If I still can't work it out then I'll probably make another loom for the gauges and do it that way!

 

Andrew

 

EDIT*

http://forums.nicocl...403961-540.html
Found this which might be worth a read if someone is having this issue?


Edited by Andrew_L26, 27 March 2016 - 09:46 PM.


#10 PB260Z

PB260Z

    Peter (PB)

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,281 posts
  • Location:Northern Sydney
  • Tagline:Must stop buying new toys for the workshop.

Posted 27 March 2016 - 10:01 PM

Hi Andrew

They run on 12V. Just watch out with the tacho, the trigger is less - around 9volts.

Cheers

PB
  • Andrew_L26 likes this

#11 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 27 March 2016 - 10:24 PM

I've been following some wiring diagrams and It's looking like the voltage regulator might be stuffed. I suspected this before and noticed one of the connectors is badly corroded but I cleaned it and still no go. However I did notice that when it was completely unplugged it made no difference to the gauges working or not. Anyone know what the voltage regulator actually does?

Also, looks like the alternator interfaces directly with the voltage regulator which would explain why it's not charging?

 

Here is a wiring diagram that I found online. It's pretty well exactly the same as the factory manual however I wanted to use this as I can draw on it etc.

 

https://drive.google...iew?usp=sharing

Sorry about the external link, the forum doesn't like the HUGE picture...

 

Andrew



#12 PB260Z

PB260Z

    Peter (PB)

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,281 posts
  • Location:Northern Sydney
  • Tagline:Must stop buying new toys for the workshop.

Posted 27 March 2016 - 10:34 PM

Hi

The voltage regulator does exactly what the name suggests, it regulates the voltage in the car.
It monitors the voltge in the battery and tells the alternator how much power to generate to keep not only the car and accessories running but also recharge the battery.

If you have a suspect looking connection on the reg and the alternator is not charging you could be onto the root cause of of your problems.

Cheers

PB

#13 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 27 March 2016 - 11:15 PM

http://www.zcar.com/...or-74-260z.html

 

Sounds very similar to my issues. First thing for tomorrow is to clean those plugs and if that doesn't work then I might hotwire past the connecter and go from there. I'll keep you updated!

 

Andrew



#14 blu260z

blu260z

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 273 posts
  • Location:adelaide

Posted 28 March 2016 - 07:14 AM

Check the fusible links Andrew.
They caused me issues with my car I switched them to new fusible links.

http://www.viczcar.c...es-not-working/


http://www.viczcar.c...ctrical-issues/

Edited by blu260z, 28 March 2016 - 07:14 AM.


#15 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 28 March 2016 - 09:04 AM

Check the fusible links Andrew.
They caused me issues with my car I switched them to new fusible links.

http://www.viczcar.c...es-not-working/


http://www.viczcar.c...ctrical-issues/

I did make new fusible link wires about 4 months ago and replace them. I'll double check them though!



#16 blu260z

blu260z

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 273 posts
  • Location:adelaide

Posted 28 March 2016 - 09:44 AM

I completly stripped out the old fusible links and replaced the lot with this style. Atleast then you can see they are cooked. Find out what amps run through the links and replace with suitable new style fusible links.

Attached Thumbnails

  • images.jpg


#17 PB260Z

PB260Z

    Peter (PB)

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,281 posts
  • Location:Northern Sydney
  • Tagline:Must stop buying new toys for the workshop.

Posted 28 March 2016 - 10:21 AM

I completly stripped out the old fusible links and replaced the lot with this style. Atleast then you can see they are cooked. Find out what amps run through the links and replace with suitable new style fusible links.

Hi Blu260z.

Could you post up a photo or two of how you adapted things to suit the modern fusible links ?

Cheers

PB

Edited by PB260Z, 28 March 2016 - 10:22 AM.

  • Andrew_L26 likes this

#18 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 28 March 2016 - 10:52 AM

I was planning to replace them with maxi-fuses using the same housing etc and just having little adapters on top.

 

I got the gauges working! sort of anyway. if I manually jump the power from the battery to all of the gauges (green wire on tach) they all work. I also found that the wire does link up with the voltage regulator directly it's the black and white wire going in the V.R. now I'm going to find out why there isn't any power going to that wire!

 

I'll keep you posted

 

Andrew



#19 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 28 March 2016 - 11:07 AM

Also wanted to add that when I connect power the alternator seems to activate and output around 14.2 v, the voltage regulator clicks slightly, the engine dips for a second and it charges!



#20 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 28 March 2016 - 11:16 AM

So um... it was the "flasher" fuse... It all seems to be working since I replaced it. it had broken on the inside due to being knocked. It must have passed my check as when I push it together it works fine. I'll post pictures later

 

Andrew






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users