Jump to content


Photo

Best Method To Fit Nlr-132 Twin Fused Relay.


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 zeds4ever

zeds4ever

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 863 posts
  • Location:Winmalee (Blue Mountains). N.S.W.
  • Tagline:Old Member

Posted 27 February 2016 - 07:29 PM

                                        As per title , have bought a New -Era NLR-132 fused 30A twin relay .

Hoping someone has already fitted one of these units for their 260Z S30 headlights & can assist me, as I am having problems with setting them up the correct way.

 

 

                                                  Regards : Alan.



#2 PB260Z

PB260Z

    Peter (PB)

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,237 posts
  • Location:Northern Sydney
  • Tagline:Must stop buying new toys for the workshop.

Posted 27 February 2016 - 07:57 PM

Hi Alan,

I too have just purchased one of those relays. I have used them in plenty of cars over the years and they work well.
Have yet to fit it to the S30 but will let you know when I have.

They use a common 12V+ supply for both switched circuits and a common ground for both trigger circuits, which could make things interesting in the S30 as I think they have switched negatives for lights ?

Let me know if you want a hand, I owe you a favour or two.

Cheers

PB

#3 zeds4ever

zeds4ever

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 863 posts
  • Location:Winmalee (Blue Mountains). N.S.W.
  • Tagline:Old Member

Posted 27 February 2016 - 08:26 PM

Thanks for your response Peter , there's no hurry mate . Just need to know in the simplest of terms how to set it up properly .

The diag's they enclosed were a bit confusing for me & I don't want to stuff anything up just for the want of patience.

 Will wait till I hear back from you.

By the way I've managed to lose my parking lights at the front. The neutrals are fine but not getting any supply to the active side. The rears are OK & of course the fuse link is OK. Got me stuffed ,

By the way I meant to mention that I replaced the 260Z Alternator with a 280ZX in that Tacho set up blog don't know if you did the same , also it is compatible with the S30 V/regulator.

 

                                                                            

 

                                                                  

                  



#4 PB260Z

PB260Z

    Peter (PB)

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,237 posts
  • Location:Northern Sydney
  • Tagline:Must stop buying new toys for the workshop.

Posted 27 February 2016 - 08:31 PM

Cool,

I need to sort out a charging issue in mine, then I will be attacking the lights.
could be a few weeks though, as the social schedule is about to get a bit busy.

Cheers

PB

#5 zeds4ever

zeds4ever

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 863 posts
  • Location:Winmalee (Blue Mountains). N.S.W.
  • Tagline:Old Member

Posted 27 February 2016 - 09:06 PM

                 Aren't you the lucky one. LOL

                                                                          Alan.



#6 Cozza

Cozza

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 908 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • Tagline:Datsun obsessed

Posted 28 February 2016 - 09:05 PM

Not sure this is the best option but this is how mine was done by the previous owner. I have since replaced the relay and done it the same way. It has worked well to date.

 

As PB mentioned, because the S30 lighting is -ve switched, you have to make a small modification to the relay. It really is pretty simple if you can solder, just snip the 2 coil wires close to where they are soldered to the chassis or body of the relay. Now solder on an 8" piece of wire to the ends of the 2 coil wires and route it out of the relay body, you can see how i did it in the pics attached as well as how to wire it up.

 

I hope this helps but let em know if you need more info.

Cheers

Mick

Attached Thumbnails

  • Top Markup.jpg
  • Bottom.jpg
  • Solder.jpg

Edited by Cozza, 28 February 2016 - 09:06 PM.


#7 PB260Z

PB260Z

    Peter (PB)

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,237 posts
  • Location:Northern Sydney
  • Tagline:Must stop buying new toys for the workshop.

Posted 28 February 2016 - 09:16 PM

Hi Mick, Alan

With the newer relays you don't need to mod them for -ve switch.
The relay does not earth the switching circuit through the relay chassis, it has a separate (6th) terminal for that. So supply +ve to the "S" terminal and let the exiting switched circuits in the car handle the closing.

Alan

I am more than happy to come for a run up to your place next weekend and give you a hand - the bus could do with the run.

Attached Thumbnails

  • image.jpeg
  • image.jpeg


#8 Cozza

Cozza

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 908 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • Tagline:Datsun obsessed

Posted 28 February 2016 - 09:31 PM

Nice, that is much more convenient. :)



#9 zeds4ever

zeds4ever

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 863 posts
  • Location:Winmalee (Blue Mountains). N.S.W.
  • Tagline:Old Member

Posted 29 February 2016 - 08:56 AM

 Thanks for your response Mick , also to you Peter for the Diag's mate , it's a lot easier to comprehend than the info that came with relay unit . 

Peter thanks for your kind offer mate but I am going to hook it up in the next couple of days I'll let you know how it goes.

 

                                             Regards: Alan.

 

 

                                                        



#10 PB260Z

PB260Z

    Peter (PB)

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,237 posts
  • Location:Northern Sydney
  • Tagline:Must stop buying new toys for the workshop.

Posted 29 February 2016 - 02:06 PM

Hi Alan

 

Look forward to hearing how it goes - If you get stuck give me a call,

 

Cheers

 

PB



#11 zeds4ever

zeds4ever

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 863 posts
  • Location:Winmalee (Blue Mountains). N.S.W.
  • Tagline:Old Member

Posted 29 February 2016 - 02:29 PM

G'day Peter I made up a test jig to a spare h/lght globe , worked fine so I will now install in car tomorrow. Many thanks.

 

                                                 Regards : Alan. 



#12 PB260Z

PB260Z

    Peter (PB)

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,237 posts
  • Location:Northern Sydney
  • Tagline:Must stop buying new toys for the workshop.

Posted 13 March 2016 - 08:01 PM

G'day Peter I made up a test jig to a spare h/lght globe , worked fine so I will now install in car tomorrow. Many thanks.

Regards : Alan.

Hi Alan

How did your install go ?
I fitted the NLR-132 to my bus on Friday night - very happy with the result. I now have white head lamps.

Cheers

PB

Edited by PB260Z, 13 March 2016 - 08:02 PM.


#13 ScottyB

ScottyB

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Location:Hobart, TAS
  • Tagline:New Member

Posted 03 July 2016 - 10:56 AM

About to make a start on this mod in the coming week..,Where are people buying their plugs from to fit the oem loom?



#14 PB260Z

PB260Z

    Peter (PB)

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,237 posts
  • Location:Northern Sydney
  • Tagline:Must stop buying new toys for the workshop.

Posted 05 July 2016 - 10:33 PM

About to make a start on this mod in the coming week..,Where are people buying their plugs from to fit the oem loom?

Hi

I cut the loom and transferred the plugs in mine.
Getting a set from a wreck was something I did consider.

Cheers

PB

#15 ScottyB

ScottyB

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Location:Hobart, TAS
  • Tagline:New Member

Posted 06 July 2016 - 05:33 AM

That's what I figured. A trip to Jaycar and start with new plugs each side it is then.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users