Jump to content


Photo

Best Distributer To Use For A L28


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 21 December 2015 - 12:44 PM

Hi all, the L28 in my 260z is having some issues with the distributer. I believe it is one that was on the original L26. I'm wanting to replace it with an electronic ignition however I am not sure which setup to use. The motor was originally a turbo model with the P90 head and I do intend on boosting the motor again in the future so I would like something that will also be compatible with that. When I do go turbo I think I will also go EFI with a custom ecu etc.

 

Any idea what would be best for my situation. I'm defiantly not able to spend huge money at the moment but I do need to get the car running again.

 

Thanks,

Andrew

 

**Edit I've attached some photos of my current setup

 

 

IMG_20151221_140111.jpg

 

IMG_20151221_140120.jpg


Edited by Andrew_L26, 21 December 2015 - 01:12 PM.


#2 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,651 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 21 December 2015 - 02:25 PM

The most common swap is the Electronic Distributor fitted on later L-series motors L24E, L28E etc.. These are Hitachi units and have a module on them E12-80.

 

Found this listed at $300 USD

https://www.californ...istributor.html

 

I recently bought this Mitsubishi made distributor (I've got 2 now).

http://www.viczcar.c...ine-electronic/

 

These are harder to find, but the build quality is a lot better. I paid $300 AU for the last 1 (not rebuilt) so the first link is not a bad price for a Hitachi unit that was rebuilt. In my opinion don't mess around with second hand ones - unless you plan to rebuild it. The Hitachi unit has a ball bearing cage that breaks and the vacuum advance is often stuffed. So they don't run that well, although probably still better than a points distributor.

 

Here is another option on eBay.

http://www.ebay.com/...6-/261852545091

 

Cheaper than above.

 

Another option that's cheaper is the petronix ignitor here:

http://www.thezstore...ZS/PROD/12-4020

 

But it only makes sense if the distributor itself is in good shape and not flogged out, worn shaft etc.. This is also a good option to keep the "stock" look if that floats your S30z boat. I've never used this option myself.

 

If I was you, I'd probably look at the Hitachi unit on eBay but I can't vouch for the remanufactured unit's quality as I've never bought it.

 

If going turbo in future and planning to run an aftermarket ECU like megasquirt etc..I would look for a 280zx CAS style distributor. We have discussed this before.

http://www.viczcar.c...ftermarket-ecu/

 

But you'll need the ECU to use this, so might not be an option right up.


  • Andrew_L26 likes this

#3 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 21 December 2015 - 03:02 PM

Thanks for that Gav, I will have to really have a look at my current distributer to see if it's in decent enough condition to go the cheapo option. I think this would be best as I'm not ready to go the ECU route yet and I don't feel like investing big bucks just to have it replaced in a few years.

Are there any precautions I should take when removing the distributer as to not stuff up timing etc.?



#4 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,651 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 21 December 2015 - 03:07 PM

Yeah put it in neutral and make sure the crank doesn't rotate at all, as this will turn the oil pump / distributor shaft and mess up the timing relative to Top Dead Center (TDC). You will need to reset timing with a liming light anytime you remove the distributor anyway for best performance. But it should still run if you simply remove / replace and don't knock anything about..


  • Andrew_L26 likes this

#5 PB260Z

PB260Z

    Peter (PB)

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,283 posts
  • Location:Northern Sydney
  • Tagline:Must stop buying new toys for the workshop.

Posted 21 December 2015 - 06:42 PM

HI Andrew

Before removing the dizzy I usually make sure the engine is at TDC compression on No.1.
and take a photo of the dizzy, without the cap, showing the rotor position - by taking a photo you will have reference for location when reinstalling it.

Also, give some thought to your tacho, not all distributors will trigger the tacho properly.

Just my thoughts.

Cheers
  • gav240z likes this

#6 scott

scott

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 199 posts
  • Location:Qld

Posted 21 December 2015 - 08:33 PM

Where abouts can u get dizzy's rebuilt? Never really looked into before.



#7 Retro Z

Retro Z

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,405 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, western suburbs
  • Tagline:73' 240z and 72’ 240z

Posted 22 December 2015 - 07:30 AM

I got mine done at performance ignition in Nunawading Vic.

#8 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,651 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 22 December 2015 - 08:39 AM

I got mine done at performance ignition in Nunawading Vic.

 

Did they recurve it also? I assume they needed your car for that?



#9 Zedstar

Zedstar

    Advanced Member

  • Donating Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Vic

Posted 22 December 2015 - 08:41 PM

Performance Ignition is a very professional company and will recurve the dizzy - the car is not required for this.

#10 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,651 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 22 December 2015 - 08:52 PM

Performance Ignition is a very professional company and will recurve the dizzy - the car is not required for this.

 

Interesting how do they know how to curve it for your car?



#11 Zedstar

Zedstar

    Advanced Member

  • Donating Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Vic

Posted 22 December 2015 - 09:10 PM

They have a special dizzy machine, you provide all the specs - engine size ,cam etc and they test I think with different springs until optimum result is obtained.

#12 Andrew_L26

Andrew_L26

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:That Purple Zed

Posted 22 December 2015 - 11:30 PM

Hi all, I fixed my distributor! It ended up being a broken wire going to the points! I'm glad I don't have to invest in another distributor just yet!
The car is running fantastically now which is great. Must have been a dodgey connection all along.
Thanks for your help everyone.

#13 Retro Z

Retro Z

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,405 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, western suburbs
  • Tagline:73' 240z and 72’ 240z

Posted 23 December 2015 - 10:29 AM

Did they recurve it also? I assume they needed your car for that?

 

Yes he did recurve it. The guy said he has done hundreds of L28's set up like mine and didn't need the car. Seems to work well, ive only driven my car up and down my street, so cannot really give a proper verdict yet.



#14 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,651 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 23 December 2015 - 12:45 PM

Yes he did recurve it. The guy said he has done hundreds of L28's set up like mine and didn't need the car. Seems to work well, ive only driven my car up and down my street, so cannot really give a proper verdict yet.

 

Interesting, the camshaft profile in my 72 240z is still unknown to me, it's relatively mild but has some lope. I guess measuring it up is the only way to figure out what specification it is.

 

I would think a dyno tune would be the best way to set curve. But I really have to rebuild the SUs first, no point doing 1 and not the other. I've got richer SM needles for it so will be interesting to see the difference either way.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users