Jump to content


Photo

Are 240 and 260 (2 seater) handbrake cable the same?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 PeterAllen

PeterAllen

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,340 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • Tagline:Manana!

Posted 08 April 2015 - 10:12 AM

As the title suggest. I've fitted a new cable but seem to have run out of adjustment before the parking brake actuates? Wondering if I need a cable specific to the 240?

#2 600Z

600Z

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 273 posts
  • Location:Tasmania

Posted 08 April 2015 - 10:16 AM

Might be a silly question Peter but I take it your using the original drum brakes? If so no doubt you have adjusted the drum it's self before the handbrake?

#3 PeterAllen

PeterAllen

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,340 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • Tagline:Manana!

Posted 08 April 2015 - 10:55 AM

I've modified the rear brakes a bit.

Posted Image

I have Wilwoods with a modified version of WOZA's parking brake mount. Warren supplied the cables but I remember there was a need to open up the tunnel mounts as the cables were designed for 260 fittings. I'm just wondering if the cable lengths are the same for 240 and 260 2-seaters?

#4 600Z

600Z

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 273 posts
  • Location:Tasmania

Posted 08 April 2015 - 03:05 PM

Ah no problem I have no idea if there the same length or not.

The setup looks good, what stub axle are you running there?

#5 Scoota G

Scoota G

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,213 posts
  • Location:Ballarat
  • Tagline:Mark

Posted 08 April 2015 - 04:55 PM

They are the same. I have one out of the car if you want me to measure it.

#6 PeterAllen

PeterAllen

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,340 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • Tagline:Manana!

Posted 08 April 2015 - 06:48 PM

Mark. I feel sure all WOZA's cables would be the same and the issue hasn't been raised before so i must be doing something wrong.

Does this look correct?

Posted Image

Justin - I'm using standard 260Z 27 spline stub axles. I'm only running 7" rear with narrow tyres. I'm pretty sure it will break traction before it breaks anything mechanical.

Posted Image

#7 Retro Z

Retro Z

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,406 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, western suburbs
  • Tagline:73' 240z and 72’ 240z

Posted 08 April 2015 - 08:52 PM

Yes they are the same. I have several that i have removed from 240-260z all identical

#8 Scoota G

Scoota G

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,213 posts
  • Location:Ballarat
  • Tagline:Mark

Posted 08 April 2015 - 09:51 PM

Mark. I feel sure all WOZA's cables would be the same and the issue hasn't been raised before so i must be doing something wrong.

Does this look correct?

Hey Peter, hope you are well. You may need to reclock the bracket for more adjustment, we had the same issue with the 2+2 V8 and Sam's car (for some reason my 2 seater was perfect. There are details on the interwebby on how to do this but basically it involves re positioning the second bracket for more "Pull"
I can do a demo one and post pics if you like.


#9 PeterAllen

PeterAllen

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,340 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • Tagline:Manana!

Posted 09 April 2015 - 11:29 AM

Hey Peter, hope you are well...


You must be psychic, I had a ride in an ambulance yesterday but all is okay.

... You may need to re-clock the bracket for more adjustment,...

I can do a demo one and post pics if you like.


Thanks Mark. I understand what you are saying about re-clocking - was that with std. cables or WOSA's?

I read where some pommies had made tube sleeves (about 35 mm long)to slip over the long rod and alter its lock nut position. It's simple enough so I think I'll try that first.

#10 Cozza

Cozza

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 967 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • Tagline:Datsun obsessed

Posted 09 April 2015 - 01:07 PM

Hi Peter
Could you tap the thread further along the adjusting rod?
I can see a sleeve would be very simple too.

Great to see your car is getting closer, the light at the end of the tunnel is getting close now Mate

#11 PeterAllen

PeterAllen

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,340 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • Tagline:Manana!

Posted 09 April 2015 - 01:33 PM

Mick. I ran a die nut over the existing thread as the rod was a little bent near the lock nut and I had straightened it, but I thought running if further might leave the new thread exposed to corrosion.

Last Wednesday I sat in the car, started the engine, selected 2nd (it jumped out of 1st!), let the clutch out and drove it out of the shed.
I believe it's the first time since 1998 that the car has moved under its own power. The doors are still causing headaches. 

#12 Scoota G

Scoota G

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,213 posts
  • Location:Ballarat
  • Tagline:Mark

Posted 09 April 2015 - 04:47 PM

You must be psychic, I had a ride in an ambulance yesterday but all is okay.

No good buddy, glad you are ok!

Try fitting a shorter secondary bolt and and winding back the longer one.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users