Jump to content


Photo

How do you install brake hose clips?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 PeterAllen

PeterAllen

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,340 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • Tagline:Manana!

Posted 06 March 2015 - 09:22 AM

Do they slip inside the plate or go over the top?

I'm not having much success either way. Anyone have a photo of an install. Thanks

Posted Image

#2 Retro Z

Retro Z

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,406 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, western suburbs
  • Tagline:73' 240z and 72’ 240z

Posted 06 March 2015 - 09:52 AM

Ive always seen them mounted over the top. But now looking at it,i cant see why i cannot mount inside aswell..

#3 Linton

Linton

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 528 posts
  • Location:Portland Victoria
  • Tagline:1976 260z 2+2 Sunburst 1989 300zx Z32TT 2+2 Black

Posted 06 March 2015 - 10:19 AM

they go on top, the bend you see in the clip holds tension on the hose to keep it secure within the clip.  The hose goes up through the the hole the nut on the hose is located into the bottom to stop it rotating, the clip goes exactly how you have it in the pic
similar to this

Attached Thumbnails

  • 45157_7e85162a72c007366cd352ca8cde48776442155e.jpg


#4 PeterAllen

PeterAllen

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,340 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • Tagline:Manana!

Posted 06 March 2015 - 10:59 AM

That's what I thought, but it doesn't seem to work. I threw away the OEM Datsum hoses years ago and I'm inclined to think the Wilwood (Arizona Z kit) hose have the groove at a different spacing...

Posted Image

#5 cracker

cracker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 421 posts
  • Website:http://www.blocproperty.com.au
  • Location:Adelaide
  • Tagline:James

Posted 06 March 2015 - 11:09 AM

On the opposite side of the clip (to your most recent shot above) - make sure that the fitting has slipped into the star shaped grooves properly, so that there is ample room where you are struggling to fit the clip. Hopefully that makes sense! (can take a photo later if it doesn't)

#6 PeterAllen

PeterAllen

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,340 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • Tagline:Manana!

Posted 06 March 2015 - 01:08 PM

... Hopefully that makes sense!...


It does, and I was careful to ensure it was located correctly. Thanks.

Success... I just needed to eat more spinach. The car's underside was painted with 2 pak and later with anti-stonechip. Although I was careful to mask-off areas from the anti-stonechip where items were attached to the underside, e.g. suspension, brake lines, etc., the 2 pak must be much thicker than the OEM paint.

#7 cracker

cracker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 421 posts
  • Website:http://www.blocproperty.com.au
  • Location:Adelaide
  • Tagline:James

Posted 06 March 2015 - 04:32 PM

It does, and I was careful to ensure it was located correctly. Thanks.

Success... I just needed to eat more spinach. The car's underside was painted with 2 pak and later with anti-stonechip. Although I was careful to mask-off areas from the anti-stonechip where items were attached to the underside, e.g. suspension, brake lines, etc., the 2 pak must be much thicker than the OEM paint.


;D




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users