Jump to content


Photo

Complete New Wiring Looms???


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 MATTY

MATTY

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 372 posts
  • Location:Toowoomba
  • Tagline:https://www.facebook.com/thezedshed/

Posted 27 June 2014 - 08:31 PM

Hey guys

ive done some searching but i can seem to find any one that does replacement wiring harness's. as ive had to sort out a few electrical problems i think to make it easier in future if a complete new loom and indicator/light storks were fitted. appart from getting a auto lecky to rewire the whole car thats all i could thing of.

any help would be muchy appreicated

cheers
Matty

#2 George

George

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,846 posts
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 27 June 2014 - 09:14 PM

Was quoted $700 for complete 240Z set. Send them yours and they copy it. Also comes labelled with instructions.

http://www.vinwire.com.au

#3 MATTY

MATTY

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 372 posts
  • Location:Toowoomba
  • Tagline:https://www.facebook.com/thezedshed/

Posted 27 June 2014 - 09:25 PM

Sweet! cheers George gives me something to chase up first thing Monday at work!

#4 George

George

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,846 posts
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 28 June 2014 - 06:38 PM

Pleasure.

Visited my local electrician today for an unrelated matter and struck up a conversation about rewiring old cars etc. I brought up the cost I was quoted and was told to take it up as it's cheap. Just the labour component would be way more if he had to do it.

#5 JIM71Z

JIM71Z

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Northern Beaches, Sydney
  • Tagline:New Member

Posted 29 June 2014 - 08:25 AM

Gday Matty, I had my 240Z loom reconditioned by Classic Wiring Looms about 10 years ago. They are in Vic and did a fantastic job on my loom. All wires are checked, terminals soldered, had relays fitted for starter and headlights and immobiliser fitted. I also had a tach relay fitted for fuel pump [safety]. The loom was completely rebound. The loom was plug and play and has never given any trouble. The cost was very reasonable considering the work involved and its not very hard to R and R the loom yourself. This my be an option to a new loom.
James

#6 oldmates260z

oldmates260z

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 752 posts
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 05 April 2015 - 08:04 AM

Has anybody ever used Vintage Wiring Harness mob?

http://www.vinwire.com.au/

Interesting that Scotts Old Auto Rubber has them at the same price but you need to add GST

http://www.scottsold... to Daimler.htm


#7 Lurch ™

Lurch ™

    Curator of the 'Gavin Collection'

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,607 posts
  • Location:Victoria
  • Tagline:In my Den of Rust & Sin

Posted 05 April 2015 - 10:24 AM

Classic Looms are no longer in business.

#8 Zedman240®

Zedman240®

    The 2000+ club

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,198 posts
  • Location:Way out SE Melbourne
  • Tagline:I want your old SHOGUN bike! PM me now...

Posted 05 April 2015 - 05:55 PM

A guy came into my work the other day from "Retro Looms". He does wiring for new truck / ute bodies for Cooks Body Works. Asked him about looms for a zed out of curiosity and he said it was possible. Might be worth giving them a call?


#9 oldmates260z

oldmates260z

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 752 posts
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 05 April 2015 - 06:50 PM

Thanks, he sound like someone you need to take the car to....the other mob do a whole loom

http://retrolooms.com.au

#10 George

George

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,846 posts
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 05 April 2015 - 08:02 PM

Has anybody ever used Vintage Wiring Harness mob?

http://www.vinwire.com.au/


My loom is currently with them. Should see the new one in a couple of weeks. They will also return the old one. I'll report back once I receive it.
  • gav240z likes this

#11 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,400 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 05 April 2015 - 08:11 PM

Looking forward to it George.

#12 oldmates260z

oldmates260z

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 752 posts
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 05 April 2015 - 08:26 PM

Great George, I am looking at getting one for my 2000 Sports which they list as one they do...might hold off until you get yours (if I can be that patient  ::))

You must be giving them one that they will make a template for future looms.

#13 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,400 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 05 April 2015 - 08:33 PM

You must be giving them one that they will make a template for future looms.


I thought about that also, the loom on HS30 00150 is pretty original from what I've seen so far, so would make for a good template for a 1970 model S30z AU market.

#14 George

George

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,846 posts
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 05 April 2015 - 09:14 PM


You must be giving them one that they will make a template for future looms.


I sent my loom in late last year. They said they had done one in the past but couldn't recall if it was early or late. The reassuring thing for me was that they were aware there was a difference and they did ask for my loom to use as a template. They have also assured me they will replace the date tag. All dealings so far point to an understanding and knowledgeable (of customer needs at least) business.

There has been an unusually long delay as they needed to source some info and I told them I wasn't in a rush anyway. I've also been told that they have just completed another 240Z harness. I didn't ask what year that was.

#15 Brabham

Brabham

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,028 posts
  • Location:NSW - The Police State

Posted 05 April 2015 - 10:42 PM

Are all the connectors they use the same as original? Would have thought the connectors would be hard to get.

Cheers

#16 benny

benny

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,733 posts
  • Location:Peninsula Area - VIC

Posted 06 April 2015 - 12:39 AM

Are all the connectors they use the same as original? Would have thought the connectors would be hard to get.

Cheers



240Z connectors have some generic bits... Later 260z looms would be harder to source connectors.

#17 George

George

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,846 posts
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 06 April 2015 - 07:46 AM

Are all the connectors they use the same as original? Would have thought the connectors would be hard to get.

Cheers


I did ask that question and they were confident everything could be sourced. If not, they would clean up the old ones.

#18 gav240z

gav240z

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,400 posts
  • Website:http://www.viczcar.com
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Tagline:Jack of all trades, master of none.

Posted 06 April 2015 - 10:02 AM

I think you can still source various connectors etc.. For vintage cars. I looked at JayCar and they had some standard plug types like the white ones you see in various areas of the s30z, the only tricky ones I think would be the tail light loom globe holders etc.. But I'm sure with a bit of research you could find these.. What I'm saying is that I think a lot of these connectors were standard in the day not special to the s30 only.

#19 Azman1984

Azman1984

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Tagline:Z lover

Posted 06 April 2015 - 10:16 AM

Hey guys, stumbled across this and am watching with interest as the loom in my 2+2 seems to be pretty cactus. On a side not to this as I'm considering all options has anyone here used one of the painless wiring kits at all?

#20 Triptych

Triptych

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Location:Brisbane, QLD
  • Tagline:77 GS30

Posted 06 April 2015 - 04:13 PM

I know a few guys have run EZ Wiring Harness over on Hybridz. I'm looking at doing my whole 2+2 as well and was thinking of going the EZ harness but still looking for other options




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users