Jump to content


Photo

Ground control Bolt in camber tops


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Yo-Yo

Yo-Yo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Location:NSW

Posted 08 June 2014 - 09:41 AM

Hi Everyone.
Anybody have first hand experience with Ground control camber plates?
http://www.silvermin...s-for-s30-z-car
Particularly after first hand experience on how they hold up in the long run & the adjustability of the plates.

I'd pair these up with a set of T3 coilovers, I emailed the Techno guys & they said their full coilover conversion kit would bolt right into the factory struts no issue so I should be able to pair these with the camber plates for the front?
https://technotoytun...z-260z-and-280z

Any alternatives you can recommend?

#2 skipz

skipz

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 08 June 2014 - 01:41 PM

There's quite a bit of info floating around on this - sorry, but I've not personal experience on the GC camber units. 
http://www.viczcar.c...hp?topic=6982.0
http://www.zcar.com/...ber-plates.html
(I'm sure there's more - e.g. on hybridz)

Kmac comes to mind, or DP plates.
http://www.k-mac.com.au/
http://dpracing.co/Z_Suspension1.html

Alternates to shifting the top of the strut is to shift the bottom of the strut.  i.e. adjustable control arms (e.g. from T3 or AZC or silverminemotors etc).  Again, no experience with this on the car (yet), only from what I've dug up on the web.

#3 Yo-Yo

Yo-Yo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Location:NSW

Posted 08 June 2014 - 10:32 PM

Thanks for the info!
I've been trawling hybridz for the last 2 weeks but so much conflicting info & unanswered threads etc.

I was looking into the T3 lower control arms front & rear as well as their tension control rods but there were some posts on hybrid saying they had fitment issues with rear brake conversions etc. so I was thinking camber tops might be the go instead.

My Zed will only be a street car so I don't need to go too crazy, I used to run trackdays when I owned skylines. Just need something to adjust the suspension after I lower it.

Planning on 16" watanabes then lower it a bit as it looks like a 4x4 with the stock suspension hahaha

#4 silvaghost23

silvaghost23

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 26 September 2014 - 01:46 AM

Hey guys,

Techno Toy Tuning have now got Bolt on Adjustable Camber Tops in T3 Anodized Colours. I've got a set and they are very nice and well priced!! Delivery within 10 days.

Check it out. New stuff coming

Regan

#5 d3c0y

d3c0y

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,908 posts
  • Website:http://garagesanmaru.com
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Forum Jerk

Posted 26 September 2014 - 08:48 AM

K-Mac strut tops are the same size as stock ones so you can't go as low with them as you would a TTT style camber top.


If you are just doing a street car you will probably set your camber and leave it there, so you probably dont need to to go to the cost of adjustable strut tops at all.


Why do you want adjustable arms on the street? Nothing wrong with the stock ones.


Deus Ex runs R31 rears with TTT rear arms no problems.


Why not just get offset bushes? That way you dont need to buy any new arms or anything.

#6 Roberto

Roberto

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 740 posts
  • Location:Adelaide
  • Tagline:No more sunroof's!

Posted 26 September 2014 - 09:15 AM

The TTT ones require cutting. Not simply bolt on.

#7 Retro Z

Retro Z

    The 1000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,405 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, western suburbs
  • Tagline:73' 240z and 72’ 240z

Posted 26 September 2014 - 10:17 AM

Top end performance in USA sell tops that don't require sheetmetal modifications.

Shiver website, but cheap and decent service.

http://www.racetep.com/datsunsusp.html

#8 dat2kman

dat2kman

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,061 posts
  • Location:Newport Waters Qld
  • Tagline:going sailing, see ya later!

Posted 26 September 2014 - 10:30 AM

Anyone actually fitted, and then measured actual camber change achieved?
Not just listening to their advertising/promo stuff.
Pity they cant do a strut top that is multi adjustable /rotateable to effect cadter and camber change at same time.
Kmac one gives caster/camber.
Limitation is due to the narrowness of the inner guard shappe.
Using smallest diam springs helps a lot.

#9 shaun240

shaun240

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Location:Hills District - Sydney

Posted 26 September 2014 - 10:55 AM

Yo-yo,

I will be installing the offset style control arm bushings up front that d3c0y talks about within the next month or so,  I will let you know how they turn out.

#10 d3c0y

d3c0y

    The 2000+ club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,908 posts
  • Website:http://garagesanmaru.com
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Tagline:Forum Jerk

Posted 26 September 2014 - 11:19 AM

The TTT ones require cutting. Not simply bolt on.



Roberto, they have just released bolt-in, GC style tops too.

#11 Yo-Yo

Yo-Yo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Location:NSW

Posted 26 September 2014 - 09:09 PM

Thanks for all the replies everyone! it helps me out a lot

Yo-yo,

I will be installing the offset style control arm bushings up front that d3c0y talks about within the next month or so,  I will let you know how they turn out.

Cheers Shaun I'd definitely appreciate it :)

#12 RLY240

RLY240

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Location:Adelaide Hills, SA

Posted 26 September 2014 - 09:55 PM


Roberto, they have just released bolt-in, GC style tops too.


You still need to cut the slot for the bearing assembly to protrude through the strut top.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users